You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Appreciate Beauty of Nature with @phortun: round 73

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

Well, thank you!

Wanted to get out on Sunday again, but slept (well, turned & turned in the heat) the whole day. So, I'll give it a try with a photo taken on Wednesday.
img_4172_3000c_80_vsshko.jpg

Was at the coast near the south port of Patras. Found a number of crabs again & they let me get closer than ever, into the macro range (25 cm) of my 18-55mm zoom lens. Well, me: my camera. That's why most pictures didn't turn out so well. Couldn't see what I was doing.
Anyway, didn't want to post another crab image, so I decided for a sea snail (also macro). Don't know which species it is, but it was quite old. Must have been one of the biggest sea snails I have seen here, bigger than a walnut.

Sort:  

Another great close up, thanks :) I know this species, quite common in Europe I think. Their empty shells are popular with the hermit crabs :)

Sorry, keep forgetting to post.
Yep, they are very common here in Greece, too. But there is a great variety in sizes & colours, so I'm not sure whether it's all one species. Could be, they are all periwinkles, but I have no idea.