FLOATING IN THE SEA OF SALT

Picture 660.jpg

Nothing can prepare you for the experience of the famous Dead Sea. Despite having been there a number of times, it still surprises and allures me. On my first plunge as a rather enthusiastic - ummmm, foolish - young adult I came away with eyes burning. I had learned my lesson. The Dead Sea has won my respect and love. Spending my childhood on the South African coast I have always loved water - particularly the ocean. The Dead Sea offers an experience that is quite indescribable.

Picture 606.jpg

The Dead Sea is a surreal blue. It beckons from a distance. But come with a good pair of water shoes. Those huge crystals of salt are dangerously sharp. You don't wade in too far before the heaviness of that salty water buoys you up. The first time I ever heard about the Dead Sea I saw a photo of a man reading a newspaper while afloat on the salty water. I didn't believe it. Until I experienced it. I would never take a book with me on my salty float. But it is not difficult to forget time while you drift for hours and watch the faraway mountainscapes. Surrounded by desert and the distant mountains of Jordan, one of my favourite views over this Wonder is from Masada. We hiked up at 4am one spring morning. Just in time to watch a spectacular sunrise. Of course, after a quick picnic breakfast we escaped the heat and fled to the Dead Sea shores to lather ourselves in mud.

Picture 654.jpg

It is called the Dead Sea because of its extremely high saline levels. The salt does not allow the survival of any fish or aquatic plants. However the healing power of both the naturally forming salt as well as the mud gives new life to people with various ailments. The minerals have an incredibly powerful healing effect for those with skin problems. Many people who have arthritis, back ache or respiratory conditions flock to the salty shores for some relief. It is no wonder the Dead Sea Spa is so popular, except in the hottest summer months.

Picture 649.jpg

Being over 400m below sea level makes it the lowest place on earth. Although called the Dead Sea, it is actually a salty lake. It forms part of the border between Israel and Jordan but is gradually being mined away. Sadly, for me, because of the amazing healing properties of the Dead Sea minerals the commercial industry has greedily diminished this natural wonder. Each time I have returned to the Dead Sea I have been saddened to see just how much it is shrinking.

DSC02220.JPG

But I am still grateful that I have, on more than one occasion, been blessed to float in this extra-ordinary Sea of Salt. The experience is incomparable. The Bible also promises that one day sweet water will flow in to the Salt Sea and it will again be filled with life while the waters will be sweet. How extra-ordinary that will be!

Picture 661.jpg

Sort:  

Quite the experience you had and amazing photographs to remember your journey as well! @buckaroobaby

Swimming in The Dead Sea would be phenomenal for this American tourist to experience. That's not likely to happen anytime soon though.

When I was a child I was fortunate to visit and swim in a similar lake called The Great Salt Lake located in the state of Utah. It's the largest salt water lake in the Western Hemisphere. If you want, you can read about it here Great Salt Lake

Upvoted and curated!

We drive through Salt Lake when visiting the other property in Nevada and friends in Arizona. Coming from Alberta Canada, and with how crazy traffic is in that area, it calls for a well deserved break, staying over night in Salt Lake is a great half way point if you're going to Canada from the southern states

I can definitely see Salt Lake as a terrific midway stopping place!

Did you also stay at the gorgeous Lake Powell? I honestly still remember it as being equally stunning as the incredible Grand Canyon and would go back there in a New York minute!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @ninahaskin.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Visiting Salt Lake Utah could prepare you for another salt lake...

Ooooo! Yes. That must also be amazing @phusionphil

I said the same thing!😀

My dream destination one day! It's amazing.

The Bible also promises that one day sweet water will flow in to the Salt Sea and it will again be filled with life while the waters will be sweet. How extra-ordinary that will be! Love this line🤍