You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A MIDWIFE ON THE HOMESTEAD

in Amazing Nature9 months ago

Oh okaaaaaaaaaaaay! I wouldn't want you to feel deprived. So just between you and me (and the entire social media) here goes: My six year old did the honours, with my assistance. He's been asking for months to "pull out a lamb". We obviously leave the animals to deliver naturally unless its a crisis. So the first little lamb had her head out and the front hooves. Perfectly positioned. Just not delivering. The head was rather swollen which is usually not good. I explained to my son what he would feel, see, what should (and shouldn't) happen. He is extremely strong but he still needed me on the one leg while he was on the other. Out popped the lamb. We immediately cleared her little face and she snuffled. Phew! Then was the censored part. You have to check for others. I explained that it would be really warm, bloody with bits. That he would be up to his elbow and it was ok if he didn't want to. But my little farm boy was all ready. We had to turn and assist. Afterwards we waited to check that the afterbirth delivered and mother was actually cleaning and feeding. It is totally exhilarating