Found a beautiful arachnid / Argiope argentata

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

Hello, dear friends of Amazing Nature.
It is always nice to share with you images and experiences that are born from direct contact with nature.

El Viñedo • 2005.png

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

If you have read some of my previous posts, you will know that I have developed a taste for gardening and that involves learning about soils, plant varieties, and also stumbling upon some garden inhabitants.

I have always said that insects make me cringe, but that doesn't stop me from admiring and respecting them. Every time I find one, I photograph it and look for information to help me identify it and understand its importance in the balance of the ecosystem.

El Viñedo • 2005 (1).png

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

Today when I went out to my garden, I saw a kind of glow among the bushes. When I looked closely, it was the delicate reflection of a spider web, when I got closer what a surprise I got, the owner of the spider web was perched on it. Without waiting too long, I took my camera and started the photo session.

While I was looking for the best angle to photograph this Argiope argentata (garden spider) I felt that she was looking at me in an intimidating way, and I feared that she might jump on me out of curiosity. However, I plucked up my courage and continued photographing it.

El Viñedo • 2005 (3).png

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

The day was sunny and allowed the contrast against the blue sky to give me special and unique images.

Despite my fear that there might be another one of these spiders lose in the garden when I read information about it, I found out that its bite is not poisonous, so the worst that could happen if I suffered a bite was to transform into Spiderwomen but nothing like that happened hahaha.

For the size of this species of Argiope argentata, it is a female since the males are small and do not reach more than 1 centimeter in size. The web of this insect is very extensive which allows it to capture large prey. This species feeds on various invertebrates such as flies, mosquitoes, butterflies, and even grasshoppers.

El Viñedo • 2005 (2).png

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

I hope you enjoyed my pictures. If you have a comment about my publication, you can leave it, and I will gladly answer you. This encounter with this spider in my garden reminds me of a popular saying: "You fear what you don't know" so little by little, I am working on overcoming my phobia of insects. This is the best gift I have from direct contact with nature.

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

Thanks for reading. See you in a future post!
Note: All photographs are property of the author.

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

English (1).gif

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @chaodietas! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hello @chaodietas!

nice post and information
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!