Snowman's Last Days / Ice Fishing Adventure

in Amazing Nature4 months ago (edited)

29 January 2024

Hello friends and Hivers I hope all is well. I'm back again to show the snowman's last journeys. Ten days ago it was close to 73°F (approximately 40°C) colder. That's quite a swing of temperature, eh? Also I got out for a short time to try some ice fishing.

IMG_20240128_073035929.jpgDay 5 morning

Well snowman looks good here as he got some frost on him over night. He did lose his last eye sometime between now and when I last took his photo. Unfortunately the day forward included sun and warmer weather.

IMG_20240128_174650461.jpgDay 5 late afternoon

When I seen him just before sunset I couldn't help but laugh, sorry. First thing that came to mind was the shrinking head scene from the movie, Beatle Juice. The weather reached 47°F (8.3° C) and he is barely hanging on. Also his left arm came off.

IMG_20240129_141815481_HDR.jpg Day 6

Oh my now the snow man looks like either an astronaut, robot, or an alien, haha. Definitely lost a few inches of height since the last time I saw him. Let's take a closer look than peak under the beanie.

IMG_20240129_141833515_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240129_141852015_HDR.jpg

Our snowman has met his demise. There's no way his cold heart is beating. He has no eyes, no mouth, his nose is disconnected, and his head has decreased in size. Poor guy, his mellon is now split open. Let's discover him without his scarf.

IMG_20240129_141935013_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240129_141957975_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240129_163522457.jpg

Even my dog, Watson smells no life, haha. Our snowman is shrinking everywhere. Even a side look reveals his fate. The last photo was taken a few hours later at around 5:00. It's over, RIP Snowman (January 24, 2024 to January 29, 2024).

I had much going on today and some frustration but I'm not going to mention any of that. I will say it lead to going ice fishing much later and doing it for a shorter time than what was planned. At around 2:30 for about two hours I did some ice fishing 🎣 The weather was above 50° F (10°C) and that is really warm for this time of year. So for here this is beautiful weather for January.

IMG_20240113_175541023.jpg

IMG_20240128_141917349.jpg

IMG_20240128_142515473~2.jpg

IMG_20240128_142103968.jpg

What you see above is pretty much all I needed to get some ice fishing in today. Fishing on the ice requires different equipment. The fishing rods are shorter and lures are mostly made of metal. I will share why in a little bit. You need an auger to drill holes and need scoops with holes in them to get loose ice out of the holes. I did not need an ice shack today because it wasn't cold enough in my opinion.

IMG_20240129_144909301.jpg

IMG_20240129_145611016_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240129_150858141_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240129_145541568_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240129_145238990_HDR.jpg

I decided to go to a small pond that wasn't that far away. It's not where I wanted to go because I didn't have that much time. The pond is frozen but it does have both water and snow on top of the water. I'm not one who likes to test the ice. I set up shop on a dock that extends about 15 feet onto the pond.

The first thing I did was check the ice thickness with one of my scoops that has a ruler on it. The thickness is just above 5 inches. For my safety I will fish from the dock. Having snow on the ice can be dangerous. You see snow on the ice is like a blanket. Blankets typically keep things warm. The sun can make the snow warmer causing the ice beneath it to melt. Water on top of the ice means melting is currently taken place.

IMG_20240129_153532936_HDR.jpg

Now if there was a good 10 inches of ice I would have ventured out further and fished some deeper water. I can't believe this family above walked out to the middle. The mom did not want go because she was scared. I was shaking my head and rolling my eyes at the same time thinking why than would you allow your spouse and children to do it? Thankfully no ice broke and they got back on land.

IMG_20240129_153342921_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240129_150858141_HDR.jpg

I fished a few areas on the dock. I took pictures of the overall view of the dock but they didn't show up in my gallery for whatever reason. Anyways I sat on the floor of the dock and others times I used my bucket as a chair. It was more comfortable sitting on the bucket, plus I was able to use it as a rod holder.

Why shorter rods? It's because of angles with the ice hole. When you hook up with a fish the rod will bend. If you use a longer rod you would have to be further away from the hole. I have never used a full size rod ice fishing. I've seen others do so and it looks like a huge pain in the butt. Also it would be an easy way to break your rod if you were to hook up. The thing is you would almost have to be standing up to fish.

Lures are mostly metal and are not made of light weight material. This is because you fish vertical with the hole. Need weight to get you bait straight down. Also these lures are quite a bit smaller than most open water lures. I don't know, maybe this is because the fish look for smaller meals in the cold water. I find the bite isn't as heavy in the cold water. The fish move slower in the cold water, well I think so.

The sun was out and it felt warm on me so I took a jacket off I was wearing. I'd like to show you all the fish I caught but the thing is I didn't even feel a bite. I was probably only in five maybe six feet of water depth. This pond is pretty shallow and it's max depth is around 10 feet. Maybe the fish were deeper but I wasn't going out on the open ice. I'd rather not catch fish than swim with them under the ice 😳

Even though I didn't catch any fish it was a good breath of fresh air. It allowed me to exhale some stresses and distract my mind of worries. Nature is the best, affordable and safest remedy for this 😊

IMG_20240129_180446673.jpg

IMG_20240129_180405803.jpg

IMG_20240129_181227671_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240129_180353431.jpg

To end this article I'll show you some ice I seen form on a lake nearby. I had to drop my son off at one of his fellow basketball player's house for a team dinner. It was pleasant time as I watched the sun disappear. I spent about an hour here taking the views in and feeling the temperature drop a bit. Again nature playing it's role in clearing my mind.

Take care, stay safe and enjoy the rest of the week. Until next time!

Sort:  

Fantastic posts where we learned about the short life story of the snowman and the way of fishing in the frozen pond.

Way to go!

#aliveandthriving

Thanks for your appreciation. It much feels like spring now, everything melting. I feel like old man winter will show again though.
.

I think I could hear your poor, sad snowman yelling, "I'm melting!" in your photos of his last hours! Thank you for sharing your ice-fishing adventure! That's one thing I've never done, and have only rarely seen people doing it. I'm glad that it helped sooth your system after the stressful experiences that you had! Nature sure is good at that! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Haha ya snowman had a tragic short life. Yes nature has a way of leveling us out 😊

Hehe...indeed, though I have a feeling that he will live again! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Ohhhh RIP snowman and Watson is smelling the death body jaja
Well that makes us think how perishable life is😅😅 !LOLZ
At least you have enjoyed the nice views while you were fishing and the calm moment.
Have a good day dear amigo!

Haha the short life of frozen things. Yes it was very relaxing and enjoyable for me Amiga. I owe a thank you to nature 😁

Have a great day as well!

!LOLZ

I tried to starte a professional hide and seek team but it didn't work out.
Turns out good players are hard to find.

Credit: marshmellowman
@duvinca, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of coolmidwestguy

(1/4)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

What do you call it when a chickpea kills someone?
Hummus-cide

Credit: reddit
@coolmidwestguy, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of duvinca

(1/6)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

RIP Snowman haha... I wonder if fish freeze in the cold water 😂..

Our friend's life melted away, hehe. Oh the cold water I guess I don't want to be re-born as a fish and find out 😉
!LUV

jane1289, coolmidwestguy sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you @indiaunited and @steemflow it's much appreciated 😊

Brrrr looks so cold

To me it was warm, hehe. I imagine it would be cold to you though 😊

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks @qurator team! It's much appreciated ☺️

Wow! that's so cool , I love snowman☃️

Thank you for stopping by 😊

Im waiting for your fishing catch 😛. Maybe better luck next time. It's also a good way to relax yourself.♥️

It was more for the relaxing, I kinda knew I wouldn't catch anything. If I had more time and got to go where I wanted to I probably would have had some catches. I am happy I did it though because my mind feels clearer now.

Next time might be on the open water. I bet by this weekend the ice will broken and mostly melted away. One month holds close to record lows and high in relation to temperatures. Crazy weather and I wonder to expect early or late spring. Hoping early spring 🌼🌱 🙏, hehe. Take care thanks for stopping by always 🤗 ♥️

!LUV
!HUG

Dear @asiaymalay, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @coolmidwestguy.
(3/3)

asiaymalay, coolmidwestguy sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

This was a fun post to read. Thank you for sharing about your late snowman. He survived five days so I guess that's not so bad, huh? Interesting ice fishing. Does anyone ever catch anything? I do wonder. (We don't have winter here.) Glad you had a lovely day. Stay warm and dry. Happy midweek!


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

Thank you for the curation. Yes people do catch fish through the ice. I would have had better luck if the ice was thicker and I got further out on the pond. I didn't have that much time as well.

Happy Thursday, @coolmidwestguy! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

@coolmidwestguy! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ aliveandthriving. (1/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.