The Garlic Forest

in Amazing Nature11 months ago

As you probably already know I am a forest enthusiast. I just like the way I feel in a forest and being in nature has been something really helpful for my mental health , especially in the last 2 years which were difficult for me.

20230516_105619.jpg

Media_230516_144104.gif

Today I will present you the Riis Skov forest. I will nickname it The Garlic Forest as it is now completely filled with ramsons known as wild garlic or Allium ursinum which is splendidely bloomed throughout the entire place. It looks like a scenery cut out of a Hollywood movie. I actually stood in awe looking at it, thinking how much I would like to someday get married in a forest like this. It's just magical, simple and yet sophisticated.

Media_230516_144929.gif

This is the first public forest in Denmark. It is located south of the district of Risskov, along the Bay of Aarhus. Queen Margaret first introduced this forest in 1395, so it has some history. It is covered mainly with beech, oak, larch and maple. This is not a natural beech forest so new trees are being planted once a while.

20230516_105703.jpg

20230516_105700.jpg

20230516_104501.jpg

20230516_105434.jpg

20230516_113050.jpg

20230516_110408.jpg

What I have found cool about this forest is how it leads you to the sea, ending up with a beautiful view towards the bay. As you explore it you can see a nice panoramic view over the public sea-bath beach of Den Permanente, a place reserved for members only. I felt like a kid again exploring the place filled with parked boats and tiny houses where the locals probably keep their explore-the-sea stuff.

20230516_114941.jpg

20230516_115014.jpg

20230516_115403.jpg

20230516_114329.jpg

20230516_115516.jpg

20230516_115623.jpg

Media_230516_144813.gif

There were some big blocks of rocks throughout the forest and that made me curious. I have found out that on the 2nd of October 1951 a big meteorite exploded above Aarhus and one of the two pieces was recovered in Riis Skov. How awesome is that? A forest with meteorite memorabilia.

20230516_112548.jpg

20230516_112009.jpg

20230516_112427.jpg

20230516_123227.jpg

I collected some of the wild garlic and made a soup and some salad . It has an incredible earthy, raw, delicious taste. And its benefits are quite significant, amongst them being the lowering of your blood pressure, antibacterial and antifungical properties. It contains vitamins A and C, calcium, iron, phosphorus, sodium and copper. So it is good, healthy and free! I am sure there is enough garlic in this forest to feed the entire population of Aarhus haha.

You can read more information about this tasty plant here

P.S. A small detail in my walk made me realize that we humans, regardless of where we come from and what language we speak, we possess some very common things that unite us as spiritual beings. A universal language is love. I saw some benches sprayed with some messages like Love U and Miss Me .And I smiled. Knowing how reading this stuff could make anyone feel. I found it cute and funny and I thought: oh well, isn't love just internationally understood and felt beyond words.

20230516_112530.jpg

20230516_112520.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing the stunning photos of Riis Skov forest. The wild garlic flowers are absolutely beautiful. Did you happen to locate the exact spot where the meteorite landed? Wishing you a fantastic time during your stay in Denmark!

I appreciate that you took the time to read it! It is somewhere in the forest, I am not sure exactly where, now that you ask me I think it would have been a great idea to have a poster sign placed in here saying: this is where the meteorite has crashed lol.
I enjoyed Denmark and the nature quite a lot for sure!

I love bear garlic :) if interested I wrote an article about its properties like ages ago :) but you might find it interesting. it's edible and you can actually cook https://blog.priscillahernandez.com/2018/05/

Thank you very much🤗

We appreciate your work and your publication has been hand selected by the geography curation team on behalf of the Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Thank you🤗

What a beauty! So many forest flowers at the same time! It's like a fairytale!

Yes it was gorgeous to come across a forest like this!

Great pictures @creativemary 😄 Are you Danish?

Thank you🤗 I am a romanian exploring Denmark

Im shock about the meteorite. Thanks for sharing this

My pleasure🤗

What? A garlic forest and a meteorite!!!!! But it does looks stunning, I'm agree like in the movies !! I need to taste that garlic myself!!! I love when ppl are traveling and enjoying! Nature makes us feel alive

Thank you for the lovely photos! It has been so many years since I have seen Denmark in the spring... when we go back (from USA) it is always in the summer and at Christmas.

Love the wild garlic (or "ramsløg" as they are called in Danish) as well as the beech forest when it is just starting to green, in spring. The very freshest young beech tree leaves are good to eat, too.

Congratulations @creativemary! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 400 posts.
Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @birdwatcher.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

A garlic forest and a meteorite!!!!! But it does looks stunning, I'm agree like in the movies ! I need to taste that garlic. I love when ppl are traveling and enjoying! Nature makes us feel alive
Uploading image.png #29

Nice forest.