Competition Entry - Amazing Nature

in Amazing Nature4 years ago

For me, the most Amazing thing about Nature, is its ability to always surprise us, whether that is seeing a new species we haven't seen before, or travelling to a new location, or even witnessing some unexpected behaviour. On my rare days off, I go out with my camera to explore and see what I can find. And while I may have a particular thing in mind, I never truly know what I will see until it unfolds in front of me.

Birds first edit7389PP.jpg

As an example, I will show some images from last years trip to Norfolk. We were looking for Butterflies (and we eventually found them if you read my previous post) but the weather was cold and wet so not good conditions for Butterflies. Undeterred, we visited the lake near us, and joined a little guided tour on a small boat. The local guide took us out and pointed out wildlife, and talked about the history of the nature reserve.

Day 2a  Hickling Broad0149PP.jpg

Unexpectedly, the driver of the boat took us across the water to a small bird hide which was usually inaccessible to the public. We walked inside and looked out across the water and the view was stunning! Not only could we see Avocets (a small wading bird with beautifully simple black and white plumage) which was a species of Bird we had never seen before. But the weather conditions at the moment was just right. A combination of grey, overcast skies, very light rain and the lack of any wind created this beautiful clear water, so smooth that you could actually see the reflection of the bird in the water.

Day 2a  Hickling Broad0201PP.jpg

These are still some of my favourite wildlife photos that I have ever taken, and yet when I first set out that morning I had no idea that I would be able to witness this. THAT is why Nature is Amazing!

Sort:  

Hello,
Welcome to Hive.

In order to prevent identity theft, identity deception and content theft, we encourage users to confirm their online identity. Users with an online identity that have websites or blogs, users who are creators of art and/or are celebrities of all kinds, are asked to verify themselves. Verified users tend to receive a better reception from the community.

In order to confirm your authorship of the content, please mention word "Hive" or add a hyperlink to Hive in your website:

https://dannewtonphotography.myportfolio.com/

You can remove this mention from your website, once we confirm the authorship.

Thank you.

More Info: Introducing Identity/Content Verification Reporting & Lookup

Thank you... yep thats ok, I have added a link to my Peakd profile on my website page, I hope this is suitable to confirm me?
https://dannewtonphotography.myportfolio.com/

Lovely bird photography out on a dull day, made for some lovely reflections.

!tip

Hi @joanstewart thanks for the comments (and the tip!) its much appreciated 😀

Really great images. I love all the negative space in the frame too. Great job!
Upvoted!

That first image is spot on. 👏👏👏

Thanks Brian, one of the few pictures I looked at on the back of the camera and immediately knew I had nailed it!

 4 years ago  

Outstanding photography!
The reflection of the bird is spot on!

Thanks for your kind words @nelinoeva 😀👍

Congratulations @dannewton! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow, you were really able to get some amazing shots of that bird :)

Thank you @seadbeady really happy with how these shots turned out, plus the bird is beautiful which makes my job easier lol

🎁 Hi @dannewton! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @joanstewart!

@joanstewart wrote lately about: Disguised As A Dead Leaf Feel free to follow @joanstewart if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

 4 years ago  

This looks really amazing. At first I thought this was a monochrome post, but you captures this @featheredfriend so well, that it creates this kind of illusion, hehe .. Beautiful pictures ;)

Thank you @adalger, Im pleased you like the images, and I look forward to sharing more beautiful images with the group soon 😀