Moth Trap: 24rd May 2022 - On Tour to the Scottish Highlands 2/2

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

Hiveblog divider.png

Screenshot_20220524-171322_BBC Weather.jpg

Date: 24th May 2022

Weather:

So last week we were on holiday, moth trapping in the Cairngorms National Park, the views are stunning and the landscape was new and exciting. I had high hopes of seeing some new species. On the previous night I saw 3 new species, could I see find any more tonight?

The weather was 'better' than the previous session, but admittedly not by much. Slightly warmer, slightly less rain, but still that annoying cold wind.

moth balcony-0407.jpg

For this session I positioned the trap up on the balcony. The reason for this was that the previous nights session was quite poor so I hoped a new location would be better. Here, the light is positioned higher and at the front of the property so it would be more visible. This way I hoped I would get more species.

So... did I find anything else new?

moth balcony-0406.jpg

Results: 7 moths of 6 species

image.png

Summary of Results:

Well the numbers don't lie!

I got the same amount as last night, although the species mix was different so I did get to see some different species in the end

First was technically this Longhorn moth:

moth balcony longhorn-0287.jpg
A type of Longhorn Moth - Nematopogon sp

He was found in the early evening while I was getting the trap ready. The family name 'Longhorn' comes from the fact that they all have really REALLY long antennae.

When darkness fell, just like last night there was very little activity and it quickly became apparent that moving the trap to the new location hadn't made much difference.

I spotted a lone Scalloped Hazel near the trap, and then a few minutes later there was a Double-striped Pug, and then went back inside to warm up.

Holiday day 1B-0298 Carpatolechia proximella.jpg
Carpatolechia proximella

While inside, I spotted this tiny little micro moth. I initially though it was a Brown House Moth, but the colour didn't look quite right. I shared some photos on to one of the FB Moth groups I am a member of, and was informed that it was Carpatolechia proximella.

It turns out that this is a new species to me (and a new one for my Moth List) which was pretty awesome. The moth might be pokey and boring, but they all count haha!

moth balconyseraphim-0745.jpg
The Seraphim - Lobophora halterata

Heading back outside, I had a quick look inside the trap. There was only 1 moth inside, and it turned out to be one of the geomitridae - a Seraphim. I have seen this just once before, so its quite nice to see this again.

Its much more common down in England, but there are only scattered records up in Scotland, so this is quite a useful record to pass on to the local Moth Recorder (once I have found out who that is!)

20220525_013137.jpg
Poplar Hawk-moth - Laothoe populi

And last but not least I spotted the first Hawk Moth of the year.

This is a Poplar Hawk-moth, and probably the most common Hawkmoth seen in the UK, so I guess if I was going to see any of those here in Scotland then it would most likely be this Poplar one.

By this point it was 1:30am and I was starting to feel tired, and as it was still quiet I decided to turn everything off and head to bed.

Bonus pictures for this week:

Conclusion:

Well there we go. I had two session of trapping in the Cairngorms Forest, and although it was slow I still managed a total of FOUR new species which is makes the whole thing worthwile.

I had planned to do a 3rd session for the following night, but in the end I decided against it as the conditions were poor and I was exhausted. Moth trapping involves lots of late nights and early mornings, and we were busy during the day exploring the nature reserves closeby.

Besides, I had already caught new species so I still classed this as a success.

Next up on the Holiday front, is a walk along the River Spey to look for birds...

hive signiture doze logo.png


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 5 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.

While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces
Further Research from UK Moths and NatureSpot

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Hello @dannewton!

thank you for this information! you are a user with a good scientific contribution
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Love the shape of the hawk moth's wings.