Moth Trap - 3rd June 2023

in Amazing Nature11 months ago

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

Hiveblog divider.png

image.png

Date: 3rd June 2023

Weather:

It is once again the weekend, and time for another session. Last Week was actually pretty successful with 32 moths covering 17 species, so it'll be interesting to see what turns up tonight. We are fast approaching Summer here in the UK, and I would expect both the amount of species seen along with total number of moths to keep increasing until we we hit the peak in late July.

Thats all dependant on the actual weather conditions of course. The past week has been bright and sunny all week, and other than a damp start on wednesday morning, it has been completely dry too. It isn't quite as warm though as despite the sun there has been a cold wind blowing from the East

20230603_205351.jpg

While setting up the trap earlier I was treated to a sighting of a Hummingbird Hawkmoth, and he hung around long enough so I almost managed a decent photo...almost!

HUM PSHOPPP.jpg

They are day flying moths which can be seen feeding on various flowers, in this case Red Valerian. Unlike other moths which land on the plant to feed, the Hummingbird Hawkmoth, true to its name, hovers in mid-air in front of the flowers just like a Hummingbird.

It does make it tricky to get a good shot though!

Right, so the Trap is out, the Light is on... here we go!

Results: 15 moths of 11 species

image.png

Summary of Results:

When setting up earlier, I wondered about the cold wind, and when I went out to check the trap for the first time at 10:30, it was freezing out there! It was only 8C and the temperature was only going to drop

I resorted to having to put a jumper on, it was that cold!

I gues the numbers are not that surprising considering the cold conditions. It was also a clear sky, with an almost full moon, which didn't help my chances lol

I tried checking again at 11:15 and 12:20 and only when I checked at 12:45 did I have any moths to report (shown below).

Shears-0011PP.jpg
Shears - Hada plebeja

Turnip-0023@0,25x.jpg
Turnip Moth - Agrotis segetum

Setaceous Hebrew Character-0026PP.jpg
Setaceous Hebrew Character - Xestia c-nigrum

All 3 of these are reasonably common across the UK, and I've recorded them frequently in the garden over the past 4 years

There was one tiny little micro-moth, which I potted up right at the end. When I say micro, I mean absolutely tiny at just 7mm in length. Trying to get a photo proved to be very difficult...

Firethorn-1.jpg
Firethorn Leaf Miner - Phyllonorycter leucographella (link)

This was the best photo I managed, all the rest were too out of focus. The biggest problem was the size, but the fact that it wouldn't stop flitting about to let me take a decent shot. In the end I gave up and released him again.

The photo may be poor quality, but at least it is enough to get to Genus level of Phyllonorycter species. It potentially looks similar to P. leucographella, but there are a handful of very similar species. We do have Firethorn bushes (Pyracantha) in the garden, so that is a nod in its favor, but I will submit the record to my local Moth Recorder for some advice and a final decision.

And that was that. At 1:30am I turned everything off and brought the trap back inside.

Feel free to check out last years session on the 2nd June 2022 for a comparison, 50 moths seen comprising of 25 species... a big difference compared to last nights lackluster results

Bonus Pictures

Trying to end the post on a 'high note', here are some bigger pictures of the Hawkmoth flying yesterday in the afternoon sun

Hummingbird Hawk-1.jpg
Hummingbird Hawkmoth - Macroglossum stellatarum

Hummingbird Hawk-2.jpg
Hummingbird Hawkmoth - Macroglossum stellatarum


And now its time to pack the trap away, in the process of getting ready for the trip to sunny Scotland next weekend... so feel free to check back for more moth trapping, and more wildlife adventures soon :-)




hive signiture doze logo.png


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 5 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.

While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces
Further Research from UK Moths and NatureSpot

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Keeping a log of what you see, time, date and detail a journey into the secrets of moths.

Fantastic tracking keeping one outdoors over the weekends. Oh, your Summer is cooler than our Winter temperatures, I photograph everything I see, battle with identification most times.

@tipu curate

your Summer is cooler than our Winter temperatures

To be fair our Summer is only just starting... July will bring averages of 22-26C, which both the moths and I will be looking forward too!

I photograph everything I see, battle with identification most times.

Ah of course, trying to ID everything is half the fun haha. But yes I agree wildlife photography is a great way to spend the weekends exploring the great outdoors!

Thanks for the tip Joan!

!LUV

Summer temperatures are still moderate and much like our Winter !LOLZ

I have kleptomania.
When it gets bad I have to take something for it.

Credit: reddit
@dannewton, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart

(1/6)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

These moths have interesting patterns, but the Setaceous Hebrew Character has a cool name too!

Hello @dannewton!

thanks for sharing
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!