Moth Trap Report - 7th April 2023 (First session of the year)

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

Hiveblog divider.png

image.png

Date: 7th April 2023

Weather:

Its been awhile since my last trapping session way back in November of last year. I had put the trap away as it is very quiet here in the winter months. I've tried in the past and had very little to show for my efforts.

I had planned to start again in February, but I was busy sorting other stuff out, and then I nearly tried to do it in March, but then the weather turned and it was very cold and very very wet.

Not good conditions for moth trapping!

Now we are in April, and its better late than never eh? We've had a few days of dry weather, and its starting to get a bit warmer in the evenings too. Today has been a high of 12C, although the temp is forecast to drop down to just 6C. There is mist forecast for later, but I shall be turning off at midnight anyway there's no point staying up for hours and hours like I would at the peak time in the middle of Summer.

At this early time of year, I'm not expecting a great deal, so I have gone with the smaller trap for tonight as it is easier to manage...here we go!

20230407_201450.jpg

Results: 3 moths of 3 species

image.png

Summary of Results:

Ah well, I'm not gonna beat about the bush on this one... it was a really quiet night out there. There were 3 moths seen, and all 3 were seen while setting up the trap before darkness fell, so technically my trap didn't attract anything!

The records still count though, so they will be added to the spreadsheet that I will eventually send to the local moth recorder at the end of the year.

Throughout the evening I popped out to check the trap and the surounding area to see if anything had turned up

er... nope!

and then I went back inside again. I think the main issue was the clear skies we had tonight. It may have been warm during the day, but after the sun set then the temperatures plummeted.

It wasn't a complete no show however!

At about 10pm I spotted a Dock Bug walking on the fence panel behind the trap (below picture is from a walk down in Hampshire if my memory serves me!)

Dock Bug-0353PP.jpg
Dock Bug - Coreus marginatus

And then when I checked the trap one final time at midnight before ending the session, I saw a lone Yellow Dung Fly in the trap. The below picture wasn't taken tonight haha! I believe it was in a local woodland a few years ago, although I'm not entirely sure which one.

Yellow Dung Fly-0055PP.jpg
Yellow Dung Fly - Scathophaga stercoraria

As the name suggests, the female lays her eggs in animal dung (preferably cow pats, but any old shit will do!)

But nevermind... I'm at least up and running for my moth recording for this year. It is currently Easter here in the UK, which means a 4 day weekend! The forecast for Sunday is meant to be better than today, and as I won't be working Monday then I think I will give it go.

Make sure you check make in a couple of days to see if I can get some better results next time!

hive signiture doze logo.png


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 5 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.

While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces
Further Research from UK Moths and NatureSpot

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Not too much... but I dont have even this :P

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Amazing close ups. Defintely you captured the nature itself.

I like some of the pictures of the insects.

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology and botanic team (@biologistbrito) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Hello @dannewton!

thanks for sharing
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!