You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moth Trap - 18th May 2024 (A slight improvement in numbers)

in Amazing Nature25 days ago

pfft... not sure about cheeky, the Beetle is over an inch long and is an absolute menace haha! I removed him pretty quickly before he scared all my little mothy buddies away

It is precisely a 'science definition' thing. 😆

Beetles refer to a group of insects call Coleoptera, Bugs refer to Hemiptera... and there are clear taxonomic diferences between the 2 groups, just like all the other groups of insects. Eg Beetles have hard wing cases, Bugs have soft, Beetles have jaws to eat food, bugs have a tube to pierce food (and suck out the insides), and both have very different life cycles.

Buuuut, 'Bug' is often used as a general term much like 'minibeast' or 'creepy crawley'.... and while I understand the majority of people won't be aware of the differences etc, it still winds me up. I spend so much effort into identifying and naming species correctly that putting everything under the umbrella term 'bug' just irks me a little 🤣

Sort:  

Fair enough!! Knowing that irks me too. I may not be as invested as you are, but I understand the frustration haha. 😅 There are clear, major differences between the different insect groups. Hm. Well, as they say, “the more you live the more you learn”. Thanks for explaining this!