You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Snow Day: Thick Ice and Snow at Home [Winter Photos]

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

Your posts are really interesting. Now I'm considering getting into Bonsai trees. I've been planning to get into gardening for some time now anyways.

I think you might live in the Pacific Northwest? The mansion post was Oregon so.
I live on the East Coast in Maryland just outside of Baltimore, and I want to visit the West so badly. In particular I want to see the California Redwoods and Sequoias, but I'd also love to be in the huge forests of Washington or Oregon.
Crater Lake is also near the top of my list.

I love being deep in the woods where the trees are oldest and largest there's something about it. But when I look at images of forests you can usually tell it's the PNW just by the look of the forests. I can't even say exactly what sets it apart really, and it's not something obvious like the Spanish Moss that covers the trees of the South East.

But to see trees that reach 300 feet, and large enough for a car to drive through seems amazing to me. Though I disapprove of cutting through them like that.

Sort:  

A favorite place for nature lovers to visit is also the Japanese Gardens and the Lan Su Chinese Garden, both in Portland. The architecture is blended into the landscape of both so it is very immersive.

I vaguely remember visiting the redwood forests and museum when I was very young. Lots of historical logging stuff. The feeling was not so much, "look how tall the trees are," but rather being surrounded by a wall of trees you can't see over the top. Ever been in a room with walls so high it feels like they go up forever?