Cherry Picking ! πŸ’

in Amazing Nature β€’ 3 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Amazing Nature contest, I saw it this afternoon, and felt like I needed to be a part of it 😁

20210517_205138.jpg

This picture was taken 1 week ago, as you can see the cherries were not all ready to be picked, but still very sweet and juicy, we just like having our cherries much darker, but it's a matter of taste.

20210523_190229.jpg

Some of the strains of cherries ripened earlier than others, we jumped on the occasion, took our ladders, and got to work. As you can see, I am probably in my happiest state at that specific moment.
When that picture was taken, I remember exactly what I was saying to my wife @lionmom taking the picture:

" I am thankful for what earth gives me, and will give the earth back"

In fact, I was so thankful, I felt that I needed to give back and we brought cherries to our closest friends, we don't have enough mouths to eat it all!

20210523_190830.jpg

Then my hair got caught in a branch, and I was a little bit less thankful all of a sudden, I even swore few times haha.

20210517_203900.jpg

20210517_203857.jpg

My wife Lerato got the baby on her back "African Style", and gave me a hand. I know that the pictures are a bit mixed up so I am not even sure which day is which, I actually still have probably an entire week worth of work, to pick up all the cherries. We decided we will some at the top, "for the birds" as my wife says.

20210517_204958.jpg

20210517_205014.jpg

The day after, the kids decided to chime in, but ended up eating everything that they picked, I don't blame them, they're like sweeties to them!
We had to pay attention to the dogs, because the pit can apparently be poisonous to them, in large quantity, as it contains cyanide.

20210519_151906_07.jpg

20210519_151906_08.jpg

20210519_154901.jpg

20210519_153843.jpg

20210519_154145.jpg

20210519_154720.jpg

Hnet-image (11).gif

I am just very happy that they wanted to be a part of the process, it was an awesome lesson for them, and probably more fun than the usual dirt digging, that can become a bit tedious.

20210517_205319.jpg

We decided that it was time to go home to wash them off, as we had more than enough for now. I still have 2 full bags of cherries to wash, it's currently raining and can't pick my cherries up today. In one day, a lots of fruits change colours and are ready to be picked.

I am thankful for this amazing yield, our neighbour told me that the trees are really full of cherries this year, and it feels good, especially after having failed to grow my beans because of the aphids, I feel that nature is giving me a win, it's good for the moral and was much needed!

20210519_184524.jpg

20210517_205035.jpg

I also would like to apologize for not being around HIVE lately, I actually lost my phone, with all my pictures and videos for my next posts ("This Month On The Farm", "Song Request", "Song Request Vlogs") but it's ok, it's just a material hindrance, and I actually took advantage of this time for being one with nature, spending time in the forest, enjoying long walks with the dogs (Charlie got really sick because of a tick bite, and had to be rushed to the vet, he is now ok and out of danger), taking care of myself and my family.

It made me realize that I might need to balance my life a little more, and spend a little bit less time in front of my screen ^^, or online, roaming like a zombie with no purpose.

But don't worry, I am back, and stay tuned for more adventures!

Sort: Β 
Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Great to watch ^^ especially children learn so much about nature and to appreciate it this way .. and every little smile on their faces while eating a freshly plugged cherry is priceless 😁

Oh yeah!! I have fond memories when I was around their age, in the south of France also, picking up figs and berries ^^
They enjoy it even more than sweets or cakes.

Good morning my friend, it has been a while since we've talked. Wow, that's a lot of great-looking cherries, I bet they even taste better than they look.
I don't know if the cherry trees were the ones covered in the vines you removed, but if they were, all of that time spent removing them, surely paid off.
I know that I have stated this before, but I'll say it again, you sure do live in a beautiful place, a great place for your children to experience all that nature has to offer.
Besides the FACT that bald is beautiful, having now hair, at least on my head, does have some other advantages, like the problem you had while harvesting. 😁

Hey there @thebigsweed!

I don't know if the cherry trees were the ones covered in the vines you removed, but if they were, all of that time spent removing them, surely paid off.

Yes, on one of them, but there are still many more to go! A little bit of work everyday, it's a marathon, not a race!

I know that I have stated this before, but I'll say it again, you sure do live in a beautiful place, a great place for your children to experience all that nature has to offer.

I don't mind if you wanna state it every time, sometimes I have to pinch myself 😁 to make sure I ain't dreaming.

I was bald once, so having been on both spectrum, I can now safely say that they don't matter much, and we eventually forget about them?

Hi there @edprivat, those cherries made my mouth water, I love them. What a great place to be, such gorgeous countryside. So great to spend family time picking cherries and eating them along the way. Looks like you had a good time, except of course, your hair caught in the tree branch. hehe

Hahah hair caught was actually a pleasant moment, it felt like one of those one in a million trick shot!

Yeah, picking fruits on trees is something I can do daily, and feel like I did something important today. Speaking of which, we still have many cherry trees to finish harvest, and everyday they start rotting a little more. I gotta start thinking of cherry recipes!

Thanks for passing by and your lovely comment!

Nice cherry harvest! Some day I hope to have one too, having planted some trees last year.

Thanks friend, and how big is the tree already after a year?

Fresh picked cherries, is there really anything better in the world??? Well maybe not, there are a lot of things that are great fresh, like all fruits, and home grown food.For me the best thing in the world was always strawberry and raspberry season, I loved fresh picked, and then eaten raspberries, bugs and all who cared, the taste was great.

I've planted 3 strawberries bushes, but they wont yield much this year. We also have blackberries everywhere as it grows wildly, and blackcurrants, 4 bushes that will probably be ready in a month or two, but rest assured that the deers, and dogs won't leave anything! Come to think of it, there is 2 rasperry bushes, I forgot about them as my son ate them all last year haha.

You are right, who cares about the bugs, it's protein anyway!

A cherry tree!!! That's amazing. We love cherries. Have you tried freezing them? We do and snack on them frozen like miniture ice lollie. I see your four legged kids are back with the family @edprivat. Happy days!!!!!

Yes! We did! We also did it for grapes, my neighbour has a vacuum pack machine, and I want to get one so bad. There's also something I was online called flash freezing, it seems great!

What a beautiful family day, those cherries look like they were on point. The best sweeties you can give to children!

You are so right, and no bad side effects, except the stains on their clothes. Cheers dude!

It made me realize that I might need to balance my life a little more, and spend a little bit less time in front of my screen ^^, or online, roaming like a zombie with no purpose.

Nice to see you with the whole family having FUN...😎
Sorry to hear about Charlie getting sick; I'm glad the Vet as able to take care of the problem.

Ciao, buddy...

Thanks my friend, we did have real good fun!

Great post and the cherries look yummyyyyyyyyyy.

Sometimes we need to be reminded on taking some breaks ;)

And you have the perfect place to balance it with a surrounding like that.

Glad Charlie is doing better, there are a lot of ticks around this year.

You guys look happy and that is all that counts. Hugs to all of you :).

Hell yeah, there is no better place to forget about the rest of the world and its craziness. We actually got lucky with Charlie, my wife noticed that he was weak and feverish after having few ticks, and I did a blood test at the vet, it was "piroplasmose"in french, which is a severe form of "babesiosis", a virus that attacks red cells. Lucky for us caught in time, thanks to the vet and the wife!
Big hugs to you too!

Lerato, very nice. Didn't realize Lee was a nickname. You know your hair's long enough to wear in a man-bun when it's gettin caught up in tree branches right?

Just makin sure.

Yep, It means Love in Sotho, her native tongue. I thought you would tease me about the muffin top I am sporting, I shoulda know you would go with the man bun 😁, I don't blame you, these hairs are just so silky and shit!

..these hairs are just so silky and shit!

It's your story, tell it however you want.

It's your story, tell it however you want.

said @dandays in a sarcastic tone...