Army of Pixie cups

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

lichen pixie cup cladonia 1.jpg

I just don't have enough of those!
The little Cladonia lichens (also called Pixie cups) that are chaped lile tiny little cups. Those are likely Cladonia asahinae, but there is few similar forms.

Cladonia lichens are food source for Reindeers and Caribou during winter months when everything is covered in snow. Now snow here. No reindeers either.

But I do get lots of those to shoot :)

lichen pixie cup cladonia 2.jpg

The cup type grows close to the ground on dead branches and decomposing stumps. Other types I can often find higher on trees and twigs.

The ones here are a bit dried up. They look best ding the winter and early spring months when there is more rain and the temperature stays low. Mist every morning and shade from the trees and they plump back up. They feel soft and tender to the touch.

When it gets warm they will shrink and dry to a crisp.

lichen pixie cup cladonia 3.jpg

lichen pixie cup cladonia 4.jpg

lichen pixie cup cladonia 5.jpg

lichen pixie cup cladonia 6.jpg

Proud little fellas :)

lichen pixie cup cladonia 7.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
!BEER
3


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Ok, let's have it 🥃

🥂

Yesss!!
🥂

👍
See e-mail

👍

🤤 i don't find this in my place to capture some macro shoots of it. Well done those shoots make me satisfied. Is it national day of Macro photography lol me too i went out to nature today to capture some macro shoots especially insects i come with some cool shoots.

I am sure you have them. Maybe not exactly this one. But some type of Lichen for sure. They just grow everywhere!

This is excellent. Nice macro photos and perfect description especially for me who can transport myself with my senses with reading. Thank you for this wonderful display and blessings. Happy start of the week.

Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed it :))