Meadow carnation

in Amazing Nature10 months ago

Dianthus deltoides wild carnation pl 1.jpg


When I was a kid we had a row or tiny pink and white carnations growing in a garden. With time there was less and less of them and now we have none. The more surprised I was when I saw one growing wild near the woods in a place where nobody maintains the grass.

Dianthus deltoides



Dianthus deltoides wild carnation pl 2.jpg


It turns out that it is a wild flower that grows natively all over Europe. Just because they are so damn pretty, people started to grow them in gardens, and nurseries started selling them in small pots.
I think the one we had was shorter, so it could be an already hybridized one, but the flowers were nearly identical.

The ones I found were all tangled with grass and other wildflowers, but I don't think the flower stems were longer than 30 cm. Long, narrow leaves typical to carnations and flowers that are around 2 cm in diameter. It's not a big plant, but it's incredibly pretty.


Dianthus deltoides wild carnation pl 3.jpg

Dianthus deltoides wild carnation pl 4.jpg


I was secretly hoping to find a little pink crab spider on one of them. Those little beasts hide so well I often spot them only when I start to edit the photos. They pick the flowers where they can blend completely. I never shot a pink yet though.


Dianthus deltoides wild carnation pl 5.jpg


And even though there were just a few flowers left among all the grasses and dried stems around, they were still very easy to spot. The colour was one of a kind on the whole, big lawn.


Dianthus deltoides wild carnation pl 6.jpg


»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

Your images captured how stunning and beautiful the dainty fuchsia dianthus deltoids truly is! @ewkaw

Some of the prettiest flowers I have ever seen are wildflowers in fields and along roadsides.

@tipu curate

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ninahaskin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @ewkaw and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/8 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

You have them too there?
They are really nice! It is a but of a pity we don't have them in the garden anymore.

Thanks for the tipu :)

I really like wildflowers and to have such a garden would be wonderful. The Dianthus Deltoides is delicate, and a bit rude, too, don't you think?

Hey, and do you have pictures of the pink crab spider? How rare that spider is! First time I've seen it.

Oh no, I didn't find any pink one yet. I would love to though.

I hope you find her.SIt will be a great joyIt will be a great joy It will be a great joy for you ,)

!PIZZA

 10 months ago  

Hello dear friend @ewkaw good day
You can't believe that this beautiful plant turns out to be a wild variety.
It's good that in your childhood you had plants similar to these in your garden.
Beautiful shots, I appreciate you sharing

Thank you!
If you think about it - all garden flowers come from the wild ones :) Most are just hybridized to become more attractive.

Amazing photo of you touching grass. Now imma touch some grass as well.

As i ponder when this image was taken.

"When i was a kid"

Ohh god, don't tell me this was taken decades ago!

Hahaha you are obsessed with when the image was taken.
Does it matter? :D

Im tracking your IP address. Having misleading dates has teleported me to back into the roman era.

Met Julius cesar, he was gay. Breh

Lovely images here @ewkaw . I just posted a bunch of images of rain lashed dianthus yesterday. I have never seen dianthus in the wild. Its always lovely to learn new things.

Oh I know yours! They are popular to grow in gardens too :)

Wow - it is certainly pretty - I can see why it was cultivated. It looks delicate and sturdy at the same time. I can imagine that they would stand out against the green or dried stems.

They were very pretty in the garden with the pink colour like that. The leaves are dark green so it looked really nice.

I love this flower, recent had a post with it . You took really great photos dear @ewkaw )

Oh you found it too :)
I have missed the post.

Beautiful flowers and nice photos. I never see this kind flowers. Have a wonderful day.

Thank you! I enjoy seeing plants from your part of the world too :) We don't have so many of them!

Congratulations @ewkaw! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 93000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 94000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status
Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day

Congratulations @ewkaw! You received a personal badge!

You successfully registered for the HiveBuzz Women's World Cup 2023 Contest.

We hope you will enjoy this event and will have fun. Good luck!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!
Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@nanixxx(1/5) tipped @ewkaw