The humble wood anemone

in Amazing Nature12 days ago

wood anemone pl 3.jpg


Once a year in early spring, and for a very short period of time, the forest floor turns into a carpet of tiny white flowers. They are one of the first flowers to open, and when the trees and bushes just start to wake up, they are already there. Millions of tiny blushed petals...

Anemonoides nemorosa


wood anemone pl 8.jpg


This tiny flower commonly known as Wood anemone can be found in shaded areas of deciduous forests. I have seen them growing in old parks as well, but it is easier to find them in woods where the wild plants are left alone.

The presence of wood anemones can indicate ancient woodland as it is a slow-growing species which spreads via rhizomes – horizontal underground stems.
source

image.png
map source


They seem to prefer lower temperatures and some moisture in the soil. As soon as it gets hotter, the flowers fade.
But even despite that, the little flower heads turn to the sun as if they were looking for some extra warmth.


wood anemone pl 9.jpg


They start with some pink blush on the petals when they are just about to open. Later, they are pure white. The leaves are dark green and stay closer to the ground, which makes a nice, contrasting background to the pure white flowers.


wood anemone pl 5.jpg


They seem to glow as soon as some sun hits them.

wood anemone pl 4.jpgwood anemone pl 6.jpg

wood anemone pl 10.jpg


I knew where to find them and was hoping I was on time to take some photos. As I mentioned - they do not last very long.
But I did not expect to see violets among them! Another short lived, tiny flower with a mighty fragrance (one of my favourite flower fragrances too).


wood anemone pl 7.jpg


Tangled between blackberries.


wood anemone pl 1.jpg


Both flowers (violet and anemones) would spread deep into the forest, but I managed to catch some closer to the path I took.


wood anemone pl 2.jpg

wood anemone pl 11.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

They look great, I love walking in the forest in the spring, the forest comes to life and everywhere is filled with beautiful scents, I feel that pleasant scent now. Thank you 😊

Thank you!
I like forests any time of the year :)

This is very beautiful, you made it sound like a fairy tale💝.

The flowers are beautiful, it's springtime and I'm hoping to see more beautiful flowers here in the Blockchain, as I don't have the opportunity yet to see them physically.
Thanks very much for sharing.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

When they bloom it almost looks like a fairy tale :D

I am sure you will :)
Thank you!

 12 days ago  

Hello dear friend @ewkaw good afternoon
What a beautiful wild plant, how good that you know it well, you knew where and when to find them, what a beautiful experience to have found the plants with violet flowers.
Beautiful photographs, I appreciate you sharing with us.
Have a wonderful afternoon

Thank you! I have spend so much time walking around woods... after a while it is easy to remember where certain things grow.

What a beautiful flower! You did an amazing job shooting them. I'm glad the timming was right and you were able to see them bloom.

Thank you! I am glad too I managed :)

They are such beautiful little flowers! In many parts of northern Europe, they are very much the symbolic "bringer of spring." In really old beechwood forests, they can be so dense that it almost looks like a dusting of snow on the forest floor!

Oh yes! You know them well too :)

hey can be so dense that it almost looks like a dusting of snow on the forest floor!

And that view always amazes me.

The flowers are beautiful and the photos are excellent.

Thanks a lot :)

Pretty bokeh shots... It's now good to see plants blooming in spring .. the woods become more lively 😊

Thank you! I like to catch some bokeh whenever I can.

Both flowers sound delightful, small with powerful fragrance and beautiful faces. Growth something like fungi if underground tracks found within the woods.

Thanks for sharing this information about how they grow, nature is fascinating.

They are delightful indeed. Especially when seeing in the big, dark forest.

Sheer enjoyment exploring woods like that!

It is wonderful that you have shared this small flower photograph called wood anemone here. This flower and the green color in its background makes the white flower very beautiful. Thus, white wild flowers are likeable, but they look very beautiful because of the large number of them growing together. @ewkaw

Thank you!

Beautiful flowers, captured beautifully! Love that Sigma lens bokeh! !BBH

@ewkaw! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kunschj. (1/1)

Thanks! It is an awesome lens :D

Even the flowers being blown by the wind are very focused on the camera👍

It was actually very calm that day and with all the trees around hardly any wind was getting them.

Beautiful!! Photos looks so amazing. I like it very much ☺️

Thank you!

Very nice photos. I think I have seen these flowers in the Mediterranean region of Turkey, but I am not sure, maybe it is another species.

It could be them. If it was early spring and not too hot yet it is very likely.

Yeah it was spring I guess and it was highland.

Greetings @ewkaw ,

Lovely photograph collection of these Wood Anemone flowers...as if you brought us along...only one who knew them so well could do what you have done here....thank you!

Cheers!

Thank you! A small virtual walk :)

They are such fragile flowers, in Romania we call them "Easter flowers". I didn't know they were anemones. Wonderful photos of some shy flowers...

I have some in my yard, with yellow flowers. I found out now, thanks to you, that they are anemones!

"Easter flowers" fits them pretty well :)

I dont think I have seen them in yellow! My mum has the white ones in the garden.

Hello ewkaw!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 4th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by szejq

You receive 🎖 1.6 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 278 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START