Unstoppable Oxalis

in Amazing Naturelast year (edited)

Oxalis corniculata 2.jpg


There is quite a few types of Oxalis out there. Some are so pretty that they are sold as ornamental plant to grow at home in a pot or directly in a ground in warmer climates. The leaves can have dark purple, colour (O. triangularis) or some delicate pattern. Some have leaves that look like a fan (O. palmifrons google this one!). Flower can go from white to lilac, pink, yellow and almost red.

But today I have a little, unappreciated weed to show.

Oxalis corniculata


Oxalis corniculata 3.jpg


I shot these at my mums garden and she could not understand why I was so fascinated. After all it's a weed that grows anywhere it can. Not only among other flowers, but in any crack in the pavement, between rocks and some dirt accumulated in corners. Anywhere where is a bit of soil, water and the seeds drops.

But it is a pretty weed. With bright yellow flowers and dark green leaves that change colour to more red. When it is left alone it grows into largely pillows covering the ground.

It is not tall, just few cm above the ground and the stems tend to creep a bit.

Oxalis corniculata 5.jpgOxalis corniculata 1.jpg



The blooming starts early spring as soon as th weather allows and will last almost all growing season. In that time it will ontinuously producce fresh flowers and fresh seeds. So no wonder it spreads like crazy and it's hard to contain.

In warmer climates, where tere is no winter frosts it can grow and bloom all year round as long as there is enough water.

On top of that it is edible with sour taste. I remember trying some of a different type that grows around woods (wood sorrel) and they have sour taste.


Oxalis corniculata 4.jpg


A while ago I was showing you this little guy that decided to move in to one of my succulent pots (this is Pachyphytum oviferum aka Moonstone plant). I guess it is the same type, thousands km away from each other. Sine them they keep popping in various pots. The seeds spread around as I sometimes let them grow. I remove them from the smaller pots only. The flowers, though super small are pretty. So I don't really mind :)


image.png


Traditionally a graphic:


image.png
image source

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

It's war at my place with those things. They are everywhere

The same in our garden. They slowly kill the rye grass on the meadow. As I hate using any chemicals I try to manually remove them but it's "causa perduta"... Amazing how they blossom and spread their seed in under a week, in the summer. The only thing I like about them... the nice combination of the yellow they add to the green :)

Those nasty little taproots.... The only thing that saves me is the heat and dryness here. The succulents can handle it so I stop watering the pots for a while so that the oxalis dies

Sometimes, even with the heat they still manage to pull through for a while.

Our lemon trees are also attacked by these buggers, we have two of them lemon trees, also growing in huge pots, as the winters here get frosty and we put them indoors after October. I never managed to keep a succulent alive for more than a few months but my daughter has a huge collection :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jlinaresp ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Beautiful pictures!
In Cyprus, this oxalis also grows everywhere and I like it.

Dear @ewkaw

She really was very pretty, a pretty little one.
Maybe you are a person who is very curious about something; you actually eat it to know how it tastes. !LOL

Even though it's called weed there, she is so beautiful to be called weed. Why is it called a weed? Should anything that grows and spreads uncontrollably quickly be called a weed?

Haaa, I was wondering what’s was colonizing my succulents pots ! Now thanks to you, I believe I’ve got an answer... Leaves seems just like that, but I removed everything 😈
Beautiful shots !
O. Palmifrons indeed looks amazing !!
Thanks you for sharing, have a good evening ´

@tipu curate 🌻

"A little, unappreciated weed to show..." Haaaa haaaa haaa... Certainly those of the Oxalis genus seem to be able to grow even in concrete! :)) .... But they are beautiful!...

Yep, they can be everywhere. Even in the back here I saw them. Beautiful captures @ewkaw 😎
Have a wonderful Thursday 👋🏻

I also often find in potted plants even in my garden. they are very small but very beautiful.

Oh well they sure can give a touch of color in the prettiest way to any pot you have, very nice info, beautiful pics ;)

I am very interested in seeing the yellow flower pictures that my best friend has shown.And I think the flowers are also growing very fertile.How are you friends, have a nice day.

Okay, I see I've been tricked!
It seems that I confused these liars in the garden this summer with flowers (it's not my garden!), so I tidied them up and removed what really looked like weed. 😂

They hadn't bloomed yet, and the leaves reminded me of some kind of succulent.
(I'm laughing out loud)

 last year  

Hello dear friend @ewkaw good day
It is true, it is a beautiful flower, in this part of the world its flowers are pink, they also start to bloom a little before spring
Beautiful shots, I appreciate that you taught us
have a great day

I appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by Botanic team @oscurity on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Hello @ewkaw!

thanks for sharing
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

I had never seen yellow oxalis, it's so pretty.

Beautiful flowers photography