We are playing with fire here - Dictamnus albus

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

I often mention that my mum's flower garden is like a little private paradise. Many different plants tucked into different corners, flowers beds and borders. From very early spring until the first frosts there is always something in bloom. And in winter, when the flowers are gone, berries and evergreen shrubs are the stars.

This is one of the perennials she has there.

Dictamnus albus


krzew mojżesza Dictamnus albus white 8.jpg

Dictamnus is a slow growing plan, but with some time can reach quite a nice size. With good care it can reach 1m in height and the flower stems grow even higher. The white and pink (those two mum has) flowers open in spring. After they are gone they produce equally lovely seed pods that remind me of anise stars.

DSC_8001.JPG

It does like sunny spots and I can say it doesn't need much care. I know that in summer, when it gets very hot only the very demanding plants get extra watering - this one is not one of those :p
It is native to warmer parts of Europe, South Africa and Asia, so I guess it is used to hot conditions.

krzew mojżesza Dictamnus albus white 5.jpg

Can you see all those tiny little pimples on the buds? They are filled with oil. Apparently it is fragrant and if you touch the flowers or leaves you will smell some citrus or lemon scent. I didn't really try that, so cannot tell. I also rad that this oil can be irritating to skin. Again, I didn't notice anything like that.

Now the fun part - the oils are flammable! In Polish we call the plant Moses bush, which you may, or may not know, is a bush that was burning on some hill. In English it is called burning bush or gas plant.
Apparently in a very hot and dry condition it can catch fire on its own. Never happened in our garden, but I am curious how flamable it is. Next time I will take some will try to burn it.
I be a little scientist :)

krzew mojżesza Dictamnus albus white 1.jpg

krzew mojżesza Dictamnus albus white 2.jpg

krzew mojżesza Dictamnus albus white 3.jpg

krzew mojżesza Dictamnus albus white 4.jpg

krzew mojżesza Dictamnus albus white 6.jpg

krzew mojżesza Dictamnus albus white 7.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
Location: Poland
All photos and text are my own.

separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 31 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

Wow, this is just beautiful. No, actually it is amazing!! Seems so innocent but can cause such problem as fire ?
Thank you for all the information and awesome photos!

Thank you!
Apparently so... I never saw it, but it could be that our summers are just not dry and hot enough. Must be some view...
Not that I wish the garden to burn down :p

Very nice photography!

Thank you very much :)

Very pretty flowers with special quality! These dry pots could be useful in trying to light a fire for cooking!

Hmm I wonder if they keep the burning qualities when dried.

You'll have to have the video camera ready when you do the burning bush thing.

My mum would be pissed if I ty to burn the whole thing :p
But it would be some show, that's for sure :D

Yeah there is that, maybe a clipping or two in a sand bucket only.

That I will do :))

Awesome macros!

Thank you :)

Photos are just superb, nice blog!
I remember my friend's mom having these plants where I grew up and he once fell in whilst we were playing. He was covered with its oily residue. I can't remember the smell anymore but it made him itch all over his arms. Of course we're both shouted at by his mum, he had a quick shower and continued to play somewhere else. Funny enough he fell in again the next day and I ran home before being shouted at. What a fun weekend that was 😄

Hahah maybe he liked the pain :)

He was and still is a funny, and slightly odd fella...you might be right there haha