FLOWERS ARE NATURE'S ARTWORK... an entry in the #amazingnature contest.

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

There is no denying, nature is incredible. As an avid gardener, joy just springs up in me whenever I see new growth on my plants. Almost everything we grow we start with seeds ,bulbs or clippings.
We also do transplants from the forests and fields, there is such abundance here.

Living in the Northeastern part of the USA, growing season is short. So @thebigsweed built me a window box with grow lights and heating pads, adjustable shelves and doors to close in the warmth and humidity needed to germinate, grow and to extend the growth of herbs. I still have rosemary, basil, and parsley that have bloomed since mid July.

IMG_5295.JPG

This has been a great way for me to shorten the long cold winter. Starting the seeds indoors in our window box, gives me a jump on the spring planting.

It's so pleasurable to see the seedlings germinate, and began their journey to blossoming. Anyone who gardens knows seed germination can disappointing. But with perseverance and a little experience, anyone can grow.

IMG_2291.JPG

Bulbs can produce in a very fruitful way, this water lily started from just a single bulb, planted in the soil, under the water.
I started this beauty a decade ago. During the summer months, this pink lily will bloom 3 flowers for sure every morning, but by mid afternoon, at least a dozen will join them .

IMG_3180.JPG

I am still trying to perfect my roses. I just love mini roses. Those have done well for me for a very long time. But there is no doubt the secret to growing sweet roses is to fertilize. And often.

IMG_3174.JPG

IMG_3133.JPG

Petunias enjoy as much sunlight as they can get, but water them in the morning, just the roots not the flowers.

IMG_3101 1.JPG

This vinery lady needs to climb. Given a trellis or string tapped into a tree, she will bloom for the entire summer.

IMG_3763 1.JPG

Coleus, from the mint family. This baby just goes crazy here on our #homestead, as does the mint in the garden.

IMG_4079.JPG

Gladiolus, one of my favorite bulb flowers. The color and varieties are many. They make excellent cut flowers. They will bloom a dozen or more after cutting when water in the vase is change daily and dead flowers are removed.

IMG_4233.JPG

It's hard to believe that these giant flowers spring from one small seed. I have been able to grow some of these sunflowers as tall as 10 feet high with a flower of at least a foot wide.
I harvest the seeds for roasting, human consumption, as well as for bird seed.

IMG_3813.JPG

IMG_4541.JPG

My last challenge is to grow long stem roses. No easy task, at least where I live. But I found one that is called a sub-zero rose. It can tolerate temperatures of minus 40 degress.
I have had four plants going for the past 3 years, To my surprise, everyone of them has not only survived but has thrived.
Their scent is as sweet as French perfume.
Their long stem makes them look regal as they bloom large but delicate flowers.

IMG_3806.JPG

My garden has lots of perennials but I still enjoy some annuals around the place for that constant burst of color.

IMG_3607 1.JPG

Upon retiring a few years ago my friends and colleges would ask,
What will you do with all that time on your hands?

My answer was simple.
I will grow!!!

Sort:  

This is a lovely post! :-)
I'd like to be able to grow water lilies like the ones in your pictures. Do you have to bring them in from the cold in the winter?
I usually don't get much of a chance to harvest my sunflower seeds, the birds tend to beat me to them fairly often.

Hi there, @amberyooper. Thanks for dropping by.
The water lilies stay in the water all year round.
They are so hardy and multiply every year. In fact, sometimes they need to be cut back, as to not take over too much of our pond. But they are so pretty, I really hate pulling them out.
Hope you have a peaceful weekend.

a lovely post! exactly my thought. th flowers are amazing artworks I am fascinated too all of the time, and the one with woodpecker eating from the sunflower - is simply stunning capture! did you staged it, or it happened on its own?.. anyway, touchy. voted for you.

Good morning.
I did actually set that sunflower right where I could see it from my kitchen window, in hopes of catching some birds. Got lucky, I was able to capture several good pictures.

IMG_4539.JPG

aha! so it was a trick behind the scenes :))))
well done! - thanks for sharing the info.

You've been a flower child since the sixties. 😁

o! thats a nice pleasurable comment to see :P

We are showing our age🤗😁

Beutyfull flowers

Good morning.
Just love growing flowers, they really are so beautiful.
Thanks for the nice comment.

 3 years ago  

The rose is beautiful and the bird eating the sunflower seeds is a great capture.

Good morning @redheadpei, yes I just love roses.
I am always thinking of ways to attract birds closer to the house so I can try to get some photos.
The sunflower seemed to do the trick.
Have a wonderful day.

 3 years ago  

Thanks @farm-mom. I hope your week is going wonderfully😊

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @solominer & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thanks so very much @solominer for the curation.
Much appreciated.