You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHO'S YOUR DADDY!!!!?????

What an amazing capture! You are so lucky to have witnessed (and still witnessing?) them. I have never had this sunbird in my garden, but I see the Southern double-collared sunbird almost daily. What caught my mind whilst reading your post is modern gardeners' insistence to get rid of insects and so-called "pests" from their gardens. But this is the food for these babies! If we get rid of all the caterpillars and slugs and locusts, these babies will starve. In order to protect them, we need to be happy with the locust that arrives or the caterpillar that eats the rocket leaves.

Sort:  

Thank you @fermentedphil! It really has been an incredible experience. I'm relieved to at least get some good shots because those little birds are so fast. And my kiddos are also so busy I have to try and escape to take a quiet photo. Yes, you are so right about starving the birds if we were to eliminate all our "pests"

Oh damn, I can imagine the trouble to get a nice photograph. Yeah, they are so quick. I have my own struggles to capture them in photographs in my garden. I am not so fortunate that they make nests in my garden, but I try to provide them with ample food 😀 and your kids are so lucky to have you that appreciate like you said nature and her schoolings.