Araniella cucurbitina "cucumber green spider"

It's so funny how nature keeps amazing me. Being over 40 I keep discovering new species.
It does have to do something with my fascination for macro photography. I pay a lot more attention to the small things in nature.
And in this case it was in my backyard again.

When I was checking on my plum tree I spotted something bright green. It was a tiny spider of no more than 6-8 mm. I had never seen such a bright coloured spider before.
1.jpg

We do have a lot of spiders in autumn, but these are all dark coloured; brown or black.
Since I didn't know the species I used my Obsidentify app to determine it.
And it had a perfect name for it's colour; cucumber green spider.

2.jpg

It seems to be a common spider in the Netherlands, so it's funny I haven't seen one ever before.
On their behind they have a remarkable red spot which you can see in the photo above.

3.jpg

The spiders will slowly change colour over time and in autumn they will be brow. This helps them being camouflaged when the leaves turn brown.

Have you also discovered species you have never seen before recently?


image.png


FriendlyMoose

Photographing is my passion. Although I like photography in general, nature photography is one of my favourite subjects. I often go out with my camera for a hike to capture the beauty of nature.
I'm sharing my photos on Hive, Noise.Cash & APPICS.
I would love to read what you think of my photos in the comments.

Discord: friendlymoose#5717


Do you like photography?

Every week I create a post with an overview of all the #photocontests on Hive.
I also host my own #POBPhotocontest
Click the hashtags to check it out!


Statistics

I also create daily statistics for the Leofinance and ProofOfBrain communities:
#leofinancestats #proofofbrainstats

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 109 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
6

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(5/15) tipped @friendlymoose (x1)
pixresteemer tipped friendlymoose (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

What a nice color and markings :) Do they get any bigger?

This post has been upvoted by the VYB Curation Project

They get slightly bigger, but they also change colour, so I cannot recall that I have seen one when it changed colour.

I didn't know you were a VYB curator 😃

Yeah, I get around😂

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@friendlymoose! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

 2 years ago  

Hello dear friend @friendlymoose good day
It is true what you say, the macro photographs invite us to discover more species in our orchard or garden
Beautiful shots, congratulations on this beautiful find

Thank you my friend. You are totally right. Have a great weekend!
!BEER


Hey @jlufer, here is a little bit of BEER from @friendlymoose for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Finding to photograph enjoyment under leaves, on top, never a dull moment finding something never seen before.

Button type spiders like this I would be weary since many have a nasty side to them 😅

!BEER

I remember my childhood days at this spider, theirs a lot of this in our area.

What a beautiful macro photo and the details is very perfect, i like the way you take the shots @friendlymoose 🤗

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

A tip to make your post more attractive, place the bibliographic references is indicated in the rules! for example the "site" where you identified the species! lately there is a lot of plagiarism and this helps us to (value posts better) and (avoid plagiarism)!! as always you are welcome your posts are fantastic!

Hello @friendlymoose!

Thank you for sharing these beautiful photos and information.
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

I almost thought that it was a grape or green olive it was holding! Now this sure is a unique spider! Awesome to read how they'll change colour with the seasons!


Hey @friendlymoose, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.