You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Appreciate Beauty of Nature with @phortun: round 154

Papo de peru.jpg

Hey! So, this is my first participation in "Appreciate Beauty of Nature with @phortun" and following the contest guidelines, I wanted to bring a photo I took a few days ago going for acro yoga. It's not an epic photo, I must say. But that flower definitely is!

I saw this plant in a garden and was immediately struck by the flower which, I must say, is eye-catching, to say the least.

This plant is called Turkey jowls (Papo de Peru in Portuguese), because of its appearance, and its scientific name is Aristolochia gigantea. Although people think that this flower looks like a turkey's jowl, in my opinion, it looks like something else. To be very objective, yes, it does look like a clitoris! Tell me what you think in the comments...

Anyway, this plant is a kind of climbing vine that grows here in Brazil. I confess that I had never seen one! The Papo de Peru is a plant that can reach up to 3 meters high and its flowers, besides being exotic, have a slight fetid smell that serves to attract pollinators, which are flies.

Although its flowers usually appear in autumn and spring, it is summer here, and even so, it is giving flowers.

I thought it was a very beautiful and powerful flower. So, I wanted to send this photo to compete for the award. I believe it deserves it...

See you next time!

Sort:  

Now it´s a great and perfectly valid entry, thank you! :)

I was a bit dumb... sorry! On the next, I'll publish it in the comment. Thanks for your comprehension!