Olive groves on the island of Crete 🫒 / Gaje oliwne na Krecie

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

gaj o1.jpg

There were plenty of olive groves in Crete. Sometimes it happened that when I was driving the car on the right and left side of the road I was surrounded by a lot of olive trees. I like the taste of olives very much and I often use olive oil when cooking. It was cool to see what the trees they grow on look like and what the olives look like before they are harvested.

Na Krecie było bardzo dużo gajów oliwnych. Czasem zdarzało się tak, że gdy jechałam samochodem z prawej i lewej strony jezdni otaczało mnie mnóstwo oliwkowych drzew. Bardzo lubię smak oliwek, a podczas gotowania często używam oliwy z oliwek. Fajnie było zobaczyć jak wyglądają drzewa na których rosną i jak wyglądają oliwki zanim zostaną zebrane.

gajo8a.jpg

It turns out that "the tradition of planting olive trees in Greece is 5,500 years, and currently the number of olive trees in Crete is as high as 30 million. Almost every inhabitant of Crete has its own olive grove and thus a supply of olives and olive oil for the whole year." Source: kreta

Okazuje się, że "tradycja sadzenia drzew oliwnych w Grecji wynosi 5500 lat, a obecnie liczba drzewek oliwnych na Krecie to aż 30 milionów. Prawie każdy mieszkaniec Krety ma swój własny gaj oliwny i dzięki temu zapas oliwek oraz oliwy na cały rok." Źródło: kreta

gajo5.jpg

Wow, that's great. Therefore, I am not surprised that I saw olive groves on the island as often as in my country apple trees or other fruit orchards. Or maybe even more often, because here at times huge areas along the roads were covered with olive trees, not only flat areas, but also mountain slopes.

Wow, ale świetnie. Nie dziwię się zatem, że gaje oliwne na wyspie widziałam tak często jak w Polsce jabłonie, czy inne sady owocowe. A może nawet częściej, bo tu momentami ogromne powierzchnie przy drogach były porośnięte drzewami oliwnymi i to nie tylko płaskie tereny, ale również zbocza górskie.

gajo7.jpg

gajo3.jpg

gajo2a.jpg

I was wondering how olives are harvested growing on trees located on steep mountain slopes. It is probably associated with a higher dose of adrenaline 😉

Zastanawiałam się jak zbierane są oliwki rosnące na drzewach znajdujących się na stromych zboczach górskich. Pewnie wiąże się to z większą dawką adrenaliny 😉

oliw1.jpg

oliw2.jpg

gajo6.jpg

gajo4a.jpg

gaj10.jpg

gaj11a.jpg

gaj9.jpg

When I was in Crete, I bought myself some olives. Among others, such a mix as in the photo below - green and black olives (Kalamon variety), marinated in oranges and wild herbs. I also bought only green olives marinated in wild herbs. When I ate them later at home, I had fond memories of my trip to Crete.

Gdy byłam na Krecie kupiłam sobie trochę oliwek. Między innymi taki mix, jak na zdjęciu poniżej - oliwki zielone i czarne (odmiana Kalamon), marynowane w pomarańczach i dzikich ziołach. Kupiłam też same zielone oliwki marynowane w dzikich ziołach. Gdy jadłam je później w domu wracały mi miłe wspomnienia z wyjazdu na Kretę.

oli2.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful olive groves, these are great photos, they look beautiful the bushes loaded with olives, well I confess I am not an olive lover but I know it is healthy to eat them, I am stubborn and I must learn :D Thanks for sharing your experience with olive groves in Crete.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by Botanic team @oscurity on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Hello @katiefreespirit!

thanks for sharing
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!