DragonFly at the Pond

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

Finally, got my first ever DragonFly Pic. I've wanted to capture one of these for a long time, but never got a good one with my phone or old camera. I've seen this guy landing on the stick from my window several times. (Be sure to open this one big screen!)

K-DFly-832-Crop-2021-07-05.jpg

I was finally able to get a shot when she landed on the stick while I happened to only be a few feet away. The auto-focus couldn't grab it with the water in the background. I was frantically trying to figure out the manual focus, and only got a couple shots off.

K-DFly-834-2021-07-05.jpg

Sometimes there is too much technology, lol. I programmed the camera to let me go to manual focus by just pushing the button on side of the lens, but at the recommendation of another pro photographer, it also went into super zoom mode when doing so. Very beneficial when shooting birds or other objects far away, but not so much when trying to get a macro shot of a dragonfly blowing in the wind on a moving stick!

K-DFly-832-NoCrop-2021-07-05.jpg

Tagging #featheredfriends on this post as well. Because dragonflies are kind of like hummingbirds, right? And just because there's so many great folks there that will enjoy the pics.

All photos original work copyright 2021 by the Author of this post.
Sony A7 R4 with 100-400 zoom lens pretending to be a macro.
Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

You got one!! That is so awesome and you truly got up close and personal. I can even see his face!

I think they are not as easy to photograph as it looks. But, @papillioncharity is right! They make great practice and seems like once they claim a stick, it is their landing pad!

Great work and I look forward to seeing more of these from you!

Thanks! It felt really good to have a good one when I was rolling thru the several out of focus ones. Definitely going to be practicing my manual focus skills!

Yes! I find that as my vision isn't 20/20 anymore, I adjusted my focus to fit me and then nobody else dared touch my camera. :)

The struggle is real!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 64 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Congratulations @ksteem! You received a personal badge!

You made it rain on the HiveWhale!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you!

Certainly some great shots here my friend.
When I bought my first camera 20 years ago a professional friend told me to train on shooting dragonflies and I have many of them..
His logic was that if one could get the small things clear, then the bigger things would be much easier and he was right.

I love your shots and now it's your turn to practice, as that guy will continue to land on that stick 🤣

This post deserves a !BEER

Yes, they certainly are good practice! Next is to catch one in flight!

Oh yeah, in flight is quite a different story.
Good luck mate.

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@ksteem! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Wow, beautiful colors on that dragonfly! Kind of like something from Africa, like a giraffe/zebra combo.

Thanks, good size one too. I'm guessing 4 inches across? Not Africa though, just Colorado Pond in the Pine Forest.

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Hello @ksteem!

nice macrophotos!
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!