Fish to the Pond

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

Have you ever wondered what Fish think when they are being moved? I wonder do they even think? We moved our fish from our 125 gallon aquarium back out to the pond today.

PXL_20210522_152434913.MP.jpg

They actually grew up in the pond originally. I bought them online when they were about 2-3 inches long, and now they are 8-10 inches long (and much easier to see in the pond!) And then of course there are my wonderful Plecos, that are 10-12 inches long, the one is a monster!

PXL_20210522_152445448.MP.jpg

We brought them inside for winter 2 years ago because I knew nothing about keeping fish in the pond for our semi-harsh Colorado winters. I kept half of them in the aquarium last winter and put the other have outside with a heater. I lost those other half, because apparently you have to have not only a heater, but also an aerator, and who knows what else..

PXL_20210522_152428831.MP.jpg

PXL_20210522_152407110.MP.jpg

Anyway, we decided to sell our large house and cash out in the crazy housing market going on over here right now. Many houses here are having multiple offers with folks in bidding wars, and selling for average 6% over listing costs (or more). We plan to use this opportunity to downsize (with a lower interest rate). We will also be moving approximately 2,000 miles away, and don't believe the tank would survive the move without generating many leaks. Not to mention the hassle and amount of space it would take up in moving truck!

PXL_20210522_164457646.jpg

Our real estate agent thought having the fish in the pond would be good to help generate interest and help sell the house. I agree, it's the first thing anyone asks when they come over, "Is there any fish in the pond?" Well, now we have 7 fish and 6 giant Bullfrog tadpoles swimming around to entertain visitors during the showings.

Our plan is to move to Vermont where we can reduce the size of our house to something more suited to 2 people, reduce cost to prepare for retirement in a decade or so, and increase the size of land to be further away from other people lol.

The empty tank is being sold as the nearly empty house will be soon. That's where I've been the past week or two, spending every spare minute not working my day job cleaning out trash, purging old items, doing minor house repairs and prepping the house for showings. The realtor and photographer came out yesterday and took their photo shots for the listing so it's starting to feel real.

I'm just a little sad to leave this place that I've loved for the last 8 years, but also excited to start a new adventure. We had a lot of drama and struggles in this house while we were here (dealing with ex, kids in and out, starting, running, selling a business, toxic job, etc.) It feels like we are now putting all that behind us, purging it as we are purging MANY other things (I'm a bit of a pack-rat), at least 10 large trash cans and 4 trailers to the dump are gone!

Looking forward to more posting time soon. I plan to spend some of the forced away time for showings out taking pictures and flying my drone!

So just as these fish are an amazing part of nature, adapting well to their move back into the large pond, I keep reminding myself that we are also an amazing part of nature. Able to adjust our locations, our surroundings, our circumstances and keep moving forward until the next lifetime.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Wow! That is a big move for sure! Great post and loved your photos @ksteem! The housing market is the same here. As soon as a house goes on the market it is sold with offers. Some people are even waiving inspection which is crazy in my book and not something that I would even consider if I were buying. I'm the same as you in that I would want a small house (mine already is) with more land and away from people. I hope all goes well with your move and the fishies look happy in their new digs! 🙂💖

Thanks, not too big for us, my wife is retired Navy 20 years, and I grew up with my Dad in the Marines, so we are both used to moving. I thought I was good, but my wife is quite the expert! Given the distance, we will be getting professional movers with a big truck to handle the heavy stuff and back and forth.. We've already got most of our personal and precious stuff packed, expecting a quick sale. We found a house we like out there and putting a contract on it next week. It's a little different than most folks taste I think and has been on the market for 2 months.. We like different, and really liked this one. It will be going through VA inspection in the next week or so as soon as they can get it scheduled. I'm with you on the inspection. Better to know and then make informed decision than to go in and be surprised.

I'm really surprised how positive it all feels. We're both pretty positive people anyway, but it's strange to be so excited..

Thank you for your Dads and wifes service. Yes, it sounds like you both know the "drill" ..lol .. a little military humor there! Have you visited Vermont previously? Different can be very good and exciting and it sounds like you both have a great attitude going into your venture. I wish you all the best and hope all goes smooth and awesome for you both!! 🙂

Haven't been through there in a few decades, lol. We will be visiting some for walkthru's and to get a feel for some different areas. Thanks for the well wishes!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 57 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
15

Good sales strategy, I wish you a lot of success with the house, it must not be easy to leave so many memories but the changes are good.

Thanks, it's kind of weird. Even though this has been my favorite house I've ever lived in, I'm not really feeling the sadness or remorse I would expect. My wife has said the same, in fact it was her idea. Or at least she brought it up first even though apparently we have both been thinking about it. It's really a lot of maintenance and stuff that just adds up. The weekly fish tank cleaning, the yard work, the pond, the garden and plants, the spa, the cleaning of the big house, etc. the list goes on. I think we are just both ready to move on to something smaller and simpler. This was wonderful, but our time here done and we will let someone else enjoy as we enjoy a simpler adventure with more time to ourselves and other hobbies. Things like drone flying and wildlife pictures, while my wife focuses on her custom embroidery. Things we enjoy more than so much tedious maintenance of "things".

Looking at it from that point of view, they needed that change, they will be able to rest and have more time, I also like the simplicity.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This whole post seems a bit fishy to me.

Lol.

Hah! Are you visualizing the drone view of the pond? ehehe

Well yes actually I was...And from that visualised view...Fishy!

Congratulations and what an amazing job that you guys did.

Downsizing sometimes is actually upsizing

Tks! It certainly feels like a positive change to us.

Wow, the water in the pond looks so clean.

Thanks, Yes, you can see the bottom and it's 6 feet deep or more. It was not this way the first year. The first year, it was all ugly green. Tried lots of chemicals and still stayed green. We learned the hard way that if your pond gets a lot of sun, the only way to stop the big algae blooms and green water was to install a UV light in the pump line. We also installed a large filter like you would have on a swimming pool. But it was really the UV light that got rid of the algae blooms. And much better than the chemicals! We still have to put a little chem in there once a month or so to keep the string algae away, but looks so much nicer than the ugly green water.

Thanks for your information.
Please enjoy a slice of !PIZZA on me for the thoughtful comment.

Connect

Trade


@ksteem! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @jacuzzi.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Ohhh I hear you, good that you guys decided to make that move. It will be a new adventure waiting for you. 🤔 So I have to come to Vermont then visiting. Ok, Vermont I didn't see during my stay in the US, so that will be fine 😁.

I wanna adopt your fishis though, can you send me the pond please...please please pretty please 😊. Bullfrog Bulldog lol.

Yes, we will miss the pond, but not the maintenance! I don't know that we will be here long enough to see the tadpoles turn, but they should end up as giant bullfrogs. Will be a nice surprise for the new owners! I can imagine Bulldog Joy playing with them!

Lol, he would be curious maybe. I read through the comments a little bit and I'm glad that both of you are on the same page and ready to take on the new new. When the time is right we feel no regret, just beautiful memories. Have you found a new spot already?

We found a house we like out there and putting a contract on it next week. It's a little different than most folks taste I think and has been on the market for 2 months. We like different, and really liked this one.

Of course we had found another 2 weeks ago, but we bailed on it after we viewed the inspection report and the owner decided he wanted to raise the price $30K to have the new buyer pay for the needed roof repairs, (and there were other repairs needed, and evidence of water damage in several places).

Uhhh different sounds good, you made me curious 😄. I'm happy for you guys and as long as your gut says it's ok you should follow. You both are brave enough to risk the change and I'm excited for you 😊.

I am sure the fish love the huge open space and will thank you for it @ksteem .
Sorry about all the troubles you were going through, it is good to leave your past and troubles behind and start on a clean new slate.
Wish you the very best in your new home and new ventures.
Have a wonderful Sunday!

Well we put the troubles and past behind us already, but it certainly does feel like starting a new life (again). Talk about a spring cleaning! Nothing like a good house purge to also purge the mind!
Enjoy!

Wonderful, a spring clean does bring the light in and puts things in the proper perspective. Wishing you light and happiness along your path.

Wow! A real-life change for you! Starting fresh is a great way to zero it all out and go from there.

I am a New Englander from Connecticut, but, everything is close up there. Which one of you is from up there? Nobody usually moves there, unless they are from there. :)) I love Vermont and I lived up there in the northern tier for a year. It's beautiful and the land is stunning.

I wish you luck and I have been playing the real estate game for years now and owned five at one time, in different states, but, good times led me to sell them. I absolutely love the idea of fish and this doesn't have the land I want, so there is one more move in me at the very least.

I am excited for you and hope you get there or at least buy in the summer. I would never buy anything in New England in the winter. (Once they have snow, all bets are off. I need to see everything!)

Good luck to you!!! I love adventures! Have a Super Sunday!

Thanks, I have lots of family in Pennsylvania from my Dad's side. I lived there until 1st grade, and then we visited every summer until I was a rebellious teenager and argued enough to stay home (foolish, looking back of course).

My wife spent a few years in Maine, and with our time in Colorado, we're experienced with the weather adjustments. Yes, we are definitely trying to complete and get moved before fall though! Hopefully in time for the tree color changes there which are beautiful!

And of course I know of a place with some land and a gorgeous pond (and fish!) that is just about to go on the market if you're interested. :)

Haha. I lived in Colorado Springs for a short time. I love it, but, I do love Vermont too. The weather adjustments don't bother me, but, some people wouldn't be able to tolerate it much. It is very different socially from Colorado, but, I like it.

I spent much time in Pennsylvania as that is where my dad is from. He was born and raised in Reading. Yes, can we get a redo on the teenage years? I wish you luck, but, from what I hear, you will get to choose who you want living in your house. That is a smart move to sell now. Most people don't think that far ahead.

Interesting, My grandparents and majority of relatives spread around a little Coal mining town called "Tamaqua", not too far from reading. My Aunt had 14 kids so there's a little bit of us spread all over the state by now I think....

SMALL WORLD!!!

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

What beautiful aquarium I happen to work in the aquarium, what types of fish are you going to introduce in the aquarium? because tents I doubt it xD, community? cyclidia?

Vermont! That is a huge move and will be a big adventure. . I am so excited for you, but certainly don't envy you the packing and moving part. I downsized several years ago... 2 bedrooms and everything on one level has been perfect for me. Good luck with the house sale!