Majestic Mule Deer

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

When I saw this Mule Deer out my bedroom window this afternoon, the first thought that came to mind was Majestic. For me, this is just the image and feeling I get seeing them survey their domain, and the way they walk about with pride and confidence.
DSC01597.JPG
We have a lot of deer in this area, a few large bucks like this one, and a few monsters even much larger. It's a rural area, but not way far out from civilization, so they don't get much hunting pressure. Probably have many more die each year from Coyotes and Vehicles than hunting.

DSC01596.JPG

I very much enjoy seeing them on my walks and when looking out the window. We've seen them even more since we put in our Koi pond.

DSC01595.JPG

DSC01592.JPG
Enjoy!

Sort:  

Definitely majestic... Also proud and confident!

that's a big boy! i only ever see white tail deer in ohio(but tons of them)

Yes, I moved up here about 12 years ago from the midwest (Missouri). These are definitely different than the white tails. Even the larger white tails we had in Northern MO.

Beautiful animal!

Beautiful and so peaceful it looks. I would like to see them up close

He is so cute! I always wanted to see a deer🦌!

Majestic fits them.. I could never be a hunter of them..

I used to hunt whitetail back in Missouri a couple decades ago. Don't really hunt any more except Coyotes. I enjoy seeing them return over and over again much more. Even more fun and challenging to search for the antler sheds in the woods when they shed them each year. I've found at least one every year so far, nothing like this yet, usually just little forked ones, and one 3 point side. I'm hoping to find one of those giant sheds still intact one of these years!

That;s what I would be doing looking 4 antlers and shooting pictures.. if I lived by you...

Those are great pics! Neat that they seem to like the koi pond. I wonder if they use it as a source of water. He certainly is majestic. What a lovely treat to look out your window and see that. :)

Hello there! Yes it's pretty dry here in Colorado, they have really started using it a lot this year for drinking water. I'll often see a group of 4-5 come around in the afternoon especially in the summer and fall. Then I get to watch them all cozy up and get a drink before they snack on the flowers and saunter back off into the woods.

That's so neat! I bet they're grateful for the water source.