Super Flower Blood Moon May 25 2021

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

I finally got my opportunity after 3 months of waiting to catch a full moon with my new camera. (Not so new now, lol). Still feel lucky that it happens to be a Super Flower Blood Moon, and the night of full lunar eclipse.

K-FullMoon-748-2021-05-25.png
Not sure if I'll make it to be awake for the full eclipse, and doubt it. If so, I'll make another post with it. This is still a cool event for me. It's one of the best pictures I've ever taken of a full moon.

My first attempt had the ISO setting on auto, and that ended up ugly... the camera auto adjusted it to 8000 ISO and the shots were super grainy. After viewing, I tweaked some adjustments and got this nice shot.

The camera shoots up to 60Mb RAW files, which I cropped just a bit, and adjusted the brightness a touch in PS. One of the great things about this camera, the high resolution allows for some really deep cropping if desired.
Here's an even tighter crop which is kinda cool.
K-FullMoon-748-heavycrop-2021-05-25.png

Below is the original uncropped shot.
DSC00748.JPG

Sony A7R4 with Sony 200-600 lens +1.5TC - tripod
F/13 - 1/80 sec - -3step - ISO-80 - Focal length = 791mm (lens+TC)

Starting to get the hang of the camera, and recalling some old skills that I haven't used in many years. I've already remembered some other tweaks for the next time to be even better!

Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

Woww amazing !!!
We will be able to watch Super Flower Blood Moon in Vietnam tonight but I don't think my camera can take good pictures as yours :)

Thanks! We had full eclipse here, but into best part just as sun started coming up so no good pics of it.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 57 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Amazing goodd shoot ;))

Thanks! I'm getting better!

Yes the moon was looking very beautiful.

Thanks, It was hard to stop staring at it long enough to take picture!

Awesome shot man! At first I thought you flew your drone up there, but then I read the text. Lol.

I'm sure all those numbers and settings mean something but I have no clue what...My eyes just appreciate what they see. 😊

Hehe, that would have been a good leader for the post... Full moon drone view lol. It's got a good camera lens, but not like the monster lens! I just love the resolution of this camera. The originals are too big in size for me to upload, but allow for incredible levels of zoom. Imagine zooming in with 4-5 times the level of detail available.. Looks fantastic on my computer screen. A little more practice and I think a large print will be in order.

It's such a great shot and last night I drove out of my drive and looked up over the hills to see...The full moon coming up over them, partially hidden by some cloud. It was huge! Made me think of your shot...And getting my tripod out to have a try at getting a moon-shot myself.

Do it! So much easier now than the old days. Now we can change settings and delete the bad ones. Back in my earlier photo days, we had to waste a whole roll (or three) bracketing exposures, waiting a week to have the film developed and get prints, just to get one or two usable shots (if that). We're so spoiled now!

I've been meaning to give it a go...I'm sure it'll happen.

You did so well with that new setup! These are awesome shots and I am so glad that you posted them.

I have never been able to get a moon shot on auto, so I stumble about and grab a few different settings to find a decent one.

Congratulations!

WOW! Stunning. I grabbed a shot but nothing like this. Well done @ksteem

Thank you. I was quite pleased myself as well!

Great shots here my friend.
I use a Canon SX60HS Bridge camera and it has a super zoom fixed lens 21-1365.

You did well with the settings and I am sure that you will get 100% correct.

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @ksteem, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Yeah moon shots are hard ..pays to know some camera knowledge .. I am yet to learn.. how..

I found doing a few day moon shots first was easier, if that helps any. Good luck and look forward to them!

Congratulations @ksteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP