Amazing Nature Contest: Thematic Challenge - #3/5/21 - Birds Nest

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

kevin-grieve-CtcEbjygwbg-unsplash.jpg

Nesting blackbirds
Around the back of our house our neighbors bush comes over our wall. Sitting in the bush is a little bird’s nest. We are in our 3rd year of living in our house and this is the 3rd time blackbirds have reused this nest. We hear them happily chirping from there often.

tempImageeWSiNL.gif

We find the shells of the eggs on the floor once the babies have hatched.

There aren’t any eggs there yet but the birds are busy prepping the nest.

A lost chick
One morning last year I was eating my breakfast when I noticed a bird jumping around on my herb boxes. I thought nothing of it at first. I thought it was one of the little sparrows that often foraged there.

tempImageJfQVUI.gif

After a while I noticed the little bird was still there. I watched for a while and realsied it was a baby blackbird. Mom and dad kept landing on the neighbor’s roof and frantically chirped and their baby. There wasn’t anything they could do. Other chicks were flying around with the parents too.

I showed my husband and instructed he helped the bird as I had to drop my brother-in-law at his protected workshop.

Chick rescue
My husband put some water out for the chick but it wasn’t interested. It just wanted to be with its parents, who were still stopping by to check on the chick.

dom-talbot-AP6lAjTKkJE-unsplash.jpg

So, my husband decided to put it in the nest where there were a couple of other chicks with the mom. However, they all got very angry and frantically chirped at the intruder. My husband quickly retrieved him back from the nest and placed him back by the herb boxes.

He then thought perhaps if the chick was on the roof the parents would be able help it.

So, he fetched the ladder from the garage and carefully carried the little chick to the roof. It seemed happy to be up there and jumped around chirping. The parents soon came back. My husband didn’t see what happened after this but he said he heard lots of chirping. When he went out to check, they had all gone. He looked around on the ground again to see if it had fallen off, luckily there was no sign of it.

While we aren’t 100% sure, we are very hopefully he managed to learn to fly and took off with mom, dad and the other chicks.

I wonder what antics the nest will bring us this year?

Signature .png

Pictures are my own, unsplash or canva

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Thank you for entering the competition.
I hope with you that the cub has learned to fly :-)

mod.png

Wonderful photos!

lovely, awesome birding photos!! upvoted. 🙂

Awesome thanks

Hi @l0tti3,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am