Bonsai Exhibition at Botanical Garden

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

Last weekend, we checked out the Bonsai Exhibition in one of the parks here at Baguio City's Botanical Garden.

Being busy the rest of the week, weekends are something that we look forward to because it is the time that we can relax and unwind and free our minds from the stress that comes with work. Because there is not much to do in our city, visiting galleries and exhibitions are mostly the activities that we do, anything to clear our mind from work.

We are always on the look out for what is happening in the city. I have passed by this poster about an ongoing bonsai exhibition at Botanical Garden during one of my walks. I made a mental note to tell my partner that we will go check it out until a few days have passed since I have seen the poster and we still haven't visited the garden. When my partner saw a post about it online, we decided right there and then to go before missing it.

The exhibition was located at the Centennial Garden. However, it was cordoned off. I asked one of the personnel nearby if they will open the exhibition and he said it would be later. Those who man that are not around that time. We were there past 8:00 a.m. Botanical Garden is open as early as 7:00 a.m. so I thought the exhibition would be open that early too.

I didn't realize that human nature is ever curious and therefore can be destructive which would put the bonsais at risk if left unmanned.

Good thing there is a cafe next to the Centennial Garden where we had coffee and bread while waiting for the exhibition to open.

The reason I want to go there early is to avoid the crowd. Weekends are tourist days and as much as possible, I don't want to be caught in the crowd. If we wanted to go some place, we have to plan going to the outskirts of the city.

These two photos were taken across the cafe. We sat at the verandah where we can see the exhibition area but we cannot see the entrance. When I saw that there were people milling around there, the shutterbug in me was raring to go.

I lost count how many bonsais were there. They all vary in sizes and shapes. Some still have their training wires looped around the branches. These help in shaping the way you want your bonsai to be. The wires add more character to the bonsais.

There were descriptions in some of these and one was said to be approximately 25 years of age. I was not able to take a photo of it though. I think that is the oldest. I was so distracted in taking photos of them all. The others range between 4 and 10 but some are younger still.

I was lucky to have caught this butterfly as it approached one of the plants. Those little flowers are irresistible.

There were some plants that I am familiar with like pine trees and apple tree. It made me think to bonsai the apple tree that I managed to grow as well. I should have asked the person who was manning the exhibition for bonsai tips for beginners.

As if the bonsais are not enough, there are those who placed figurines and other tiny little things as decors. These add more interest to the whole presentation. There were animals, cartoon characters, little houses and many more. There were also interesting pots and one of them the ceramic shoe house pot.

Even though there were signs placed around the exhibition area stating that you are not allowed to touch the plants, there are still those who will. The guy who was in charge would often remind those who he sees touching the plants to please not do that.

It was at that moment when I realized good thing they cordoned it earlier. I wonder what would have happened to these plants if they were left alone to park goers.

There also flowering plants that were showcased there and they are pretty to look at.

Do you notice the person in the background? That's the cafe that we were at before while waiting for the exhibition to open.

Outside the exhibition area are bonsai, pots and other gardening stuff are being sold.

It is always interesting to visit bonsai exhibition and see these trees in pots. Usually, they are held at the city center in some of the parks there where they are exposed to more people.

Good thing we had the chance to see the Bonsai Exhibition at Botanical Garden. This will end tomorrow. The exhibition is still part of the Saleng Festival here in the city. Although the festival has already ended last June, there were still activities that were planned as late as now and in the coming months to celebrate that.

This is not just an exhibition but also a contest. I wonder who will win. They are all winners in my book.

Sort:  

Those bonsais are so wonderful and so enticing to look at. I wanted to have one but then I remember that I don't have a green thumb so better to stay away from those cutie trees. I don't wanna be the cause of their death haha

You never know unless you try :)

Cute little things. Ganda ng mga bonsai at galing ng buttterfly nagpapicture hehe. My uncle knows how to make bonsai trees that'ts why I am fascinated with its beauty.

That would be interesting to know. Maybe you or your uncle have some tips on how to do it? :D

He did give me some but I didn't follow 😆😆... Sad..😰

Oh, I see :) Sayang naman. I guess it really depends on how interested you are or not :)

Looks so much fun. Never been to any exhibition only watched in movies and loving reading yours.

Such festivals and exhibitions are always a worth to try and blessing for a country peeps.

Hope you've enjoyed that and wish you a Good day ahead.

It's like I have no choice but to love exhibits like these as we don't have anything else happening in the city lol!

So beautiful! ❤️

I'm glad you liked them :)

Loved them. Love your pics.

My dad kept Bonsais for some time. Boy were they hard work for him!

Beautiful hobby though... meditative and soul filled <3

Seeing these makes me want to take up that hobby too :D

Hmmmm... you'll have less time for photos! So maybe not...

I think I'll be photographing more but more of bonsai as the subject this time lol!

You photos seem to only be improving and levelling up with every post actually!

It's something to behold!

  • watching you shine ...

so beautiful.my partner starts making bonsai last April and im very much excited how it looks when they will age

Now that would be interesting to document and see the progress :) Do you know what kind of bonsai it is?

Simmabalin Botanical pimmintas compared idi adda kam pay dita.

Wen ngay. Adun nagbaliwan na.

sabsali ngarud piman

Wen adu pay han ko napost di nagpasyar kami idi ka op-open na hehe.

Mayat man hehe

Wow, so wonderful to see @leeart 🥰 so many different bonsai trees and every display was different.
A shame they can’t leave them unattended and people could harm them. Luckily the cafe was close by.
Great captures!
I’m always fascinated by bonsai trees 🌳 little works of art.
Thanks for sharing 😊👋🏻

Right? A little more push and I might bonsai the apple tree that we have here lol!

Yes… hahaha 🤣 that’s a great idea.
Or make a little apple tree bonsai from a little of shoot.
Happy Wednesday 👋🏻😊 @leeart

Maybe I should grow another one and make it into bonsai :D :D

Happy Thursday!

Maybe… let me know if you do. Would be cool to follow the progress 😉😎

Thanks a lot @leeart happy Thursday to you too 👋🏻☀️

Is it really a bonsai apple,the one with orange-like rounded small fruits? It's cute, haha. I feel like picking it's fruits if I'm there. Those bonsais are all stunning. Ganda itakbo kahit isa lang, charot! Hahaha.

Naku pwedeng pwede itakbo un iba jan wala namang cctv e haha! Di ko napicturan un apple tree. Pero walang bunga yun hehe. Di ko alam kung ano ung may maliliit na bunga.

Congratulations @leeart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 65000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks so much!

Sobrang ganda😍😍
Obe day kapag makapag baguio ako ,una talaga to sa papasyalan kp😁

Sana may bonsai exhibit din that time na mag visit ka hehe. Sabagay kahit wala dami pa din makikita sa Botanical Garden.

Yun lang no hihi

Ang cucute tlga ng bonsai.. May botanical garden din samin

Sana nga lahat ng lugar sa atin may botanical garden.

The bonsai are too cute, uncle Arif. I like those 😍

Indeed they are :)

Heaven! The plantita in me is alive and kicking at this very point in time. Huhu

Hehe it is an interesting craft and lots of creativity can be seen.

Hi @leeart, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thanks so much @rem-steem and @bdcommunity! Cheers!

The beauty of nature and creativity of humans blended in one tree...
ganda ng mga bonsai nila.
Gusto ko ring mag-aral paano gumawa nyan... maybe one day...

Nakaka engganyo nga po mag bonsai e parang gusto ko din hehe.

Hallooo Halloooo Sir Lee! wow! these Bonsai's are truly amazing. Look at them all so beautifully arranged. I love the one with Snow white and the seven dwarfs with his prince on the other side... haha. Well, all of them are all unique so I can't really choose. I guess the weather in Baguio added to their well-preserved beauty.
I will definitely visit this place one of these days since my son will start his schooling at SLU on the 15th.

Thanks for sharing sir, now we have another beautiful place to explore.

Hello, po ma'am! So good to hear from you! How are you? I've missed you in noise. I haven't been there for a long time now.

Anyway, that's good to know that your son will be studying here. That sounds exciting :)

Unfortunately, the bonsai exhibit ended but I'm sure you'll have a wonderful time at the garden for there are so much more to see.

okay sir Thank you for the info, the garden is still a must see.
OO nga hindi ko na kayo nakikita sa noise. Me, still there posting once in a while, now trying sa Appics na invite ako ng aking mother dearest sya naman talaga always ang original when it comes to blogging sites. I wouldn't be here din sa hive, noise and appics if not for her persistence.... haha. Grateful dahil while sharing your day to day experiences eh kahit papano earning and may returns. I'll look you up pala if you also have an appics account.
Have a great day sir.

I do have an account there in Appics but like noise, I haven't been that active anymore.