Aloe Vera Farm in Fuerteventura

in Amazing Naturelast year (edited)

Afbeelding van WhatsApp op 2023-01-04 om 20.51.42.jpg

Welcome to Fuerteventura
Me and my family escaped the cold for a bit and went to Fuerteventura. Fuerteventura lays amongst the Canary Islands and is part of these Spanish islands. This would be the first time visiting the Canaries and Fuerteventura. Once we arrived at the airport of Fuerteventura we could feel the sun on our face, welcoming us. This island is unlike other islands. It looks like another planet, no wonder why some Star Wars movies were partly filmed here!

20221220_170423.jpg
[fuerteventura]

The Aloe Vera farm
Anyway, another thing Fuerteventura is known for is their Aloe Vera Factories. The climate is perfect for many different cactus species to grow therefor Aloe Vera is grown here in large quantities. On the way to Tindaya mountain my mother saw that we were about to pass an Aloe vera farm and asked if we could stop for a visit. My mother and I love Aloe vera, we have many Aloe plants in our family home and use it to make medicine or face and hair masks. At the farm we got a free tour and our guide explained in detail about the properties of the Aloe Vera and more. Some information was familiar to us, but we got some great new facts to bring home and apply. I’m happy to share all facts about this amazing plant here today.

20221223_110315.jpg

DSC_0191.jpg
[the aloe vera farm]

Magic properties
So, the Aloe plant is in my opinion a magic plant. Inside the plant you can find more than 200 ingredients, including minerals, lignin, saponins, sugars, enzymes and vitamins. The vitamins include vitamin A, C and E, which are antioxidants. Apart from that it also carries folic acid, choline and vitamin B12. It is super good for your skin; hair and you can eat the plant too to benefit from its properties. My mother also taught us to use it whenever we got injured. The gel from the plant accelerates the healing process of any wound.

Usage tips
Before you can use the plant, you need to remove the green outer part of the plant. In the farm they first cut the plant open from the bottom and let the plant leak for 24 hours. When you cut open any Aloe vera plant you will notice apart from the gel and transparent sticky part there is also a darker consistency. By letting the plant leak for 24 hours this darker consistency has the chance to leave the plant. Our guide told us this consistency is very laxative for your body when consumed, you only need 2 little teaspoons of it to get you running to the loo. Therefore, it is best to remove it from the plant. If you don’t remove it the right way and consume the aloe vera plant, you will also notice a very bitter taste to it. I believe you don’t necessarily need to remove the laxative part when you are using it for your skin, just don’t apply it near to your mouth in order to avoid the bitter taste… (talking from experience) Be aware, it’s a great boyfriend repellent too. So, depending on the purpose of use you can decide to get rid of the laxative bitter part or not.

More properties
Another detail our guide mentioned was that when you apply aloe to the skin it infiltrates the skin quickly unlike many cosmetic creams which just accumulate on top of your skin and don’t go as deep into the skin as aloe does. Then she brought up that it also has transporting properties. This means if you add any other ingredients like natural skin oils for example it carries the ingredients and takes it as deep as it possibly can.

Aloe plant care
At the farm they had many different Aloe vera products to buy so you can skip having to grow the plant, cutting and so on. It’s always handy and fun to have your own Aloe vera plant at home though. In matter of fact this plant needs minimal care. The trick to have a good aloe plant is to forget about the plant, go on vacation and come back. The Aloe Vera needs almost no water at all, especially in humid climates the plant will absorb water like a sponge from the air itself. The guide told us if you see a healthy big Aloe vera plant in a household it means the owner doesn’t take care (give water) of the plant. This was new information to us; my mum would water our aloe plants at least every 2 weeks (too much). Then another tip we got was to change the soil we use for our aloe plants with a mixture of normal plant soil combined with sand, the more sand the better.

I hope you have enjoyed this blog about the Aloe farm and the amazing Aloe plant itself. In the next one I would like to share some DIY aloe recipes and in more depth usage of the plant. See you in the next one!

DSC_0195.jpg
[all photos are taken by me and my family during the trip]

Sort:  

Seems a perfect place to escape from the cold 😍

I can't wait to see your next post about DIY aloe vera recipes.

I love using aloe vera for hair masks. Making my hair thick and decreasing hair fall.

Lovely to hear you use it for your hair too as do I 😊. Hoping to share some recipes especially for hair soon 😘.

Many thing learning from the post about Aloe Vera how to care this plant I have only one Aloe Vera plant in my garden. Thanks for sharing.

This is a fabulous post! I've just boosted it with ecency points and reblogged it as I think it deserves more attention. Thanks for sharing about your trip with us! !LUV

Thank you. I really appreciate that 🙂.LUV 🤞

I freaking enjoyed the blog! I never knew aloe could be so...interesting. I have one problem though. They seem to darken the skin. What is your take on this? Do you have any tips?

Glad you enjoyed reading my blog 😊. So, in my experience it does the opposite. How do you use it? It could be if you apply it and go out in the sun your skin will absorb more sunlight because of the aloe vera than normally making the skin darker faster.

Ohhh
So I stay indoors and apply it? That is what I did. But I turned darker. My face is where I applied it.

hmmm I see.. did you let the aloe leak out or wash of the dark green/yellow liquid it has? I'm not sure if this has something to do with it but in case you haven't, you could try again and see if it changes anything

A very informative and interesting article!With hair dandruff, aloe vera I knew is one best remedy, too!But I learned much more information about aloe vera through this one!
Thanks for this!

You are right it's a great treatment against dandruff too. I'm glad I could share some new information😌.

Congratulations @lolawrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Who would have thought that there were more to Aloe Vera than the eyes meet and that I know

Thanks for sharing @lolawrites
I picked up a thing or two from this your post

Great to hear that @ibbtammy 😊

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

I appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by Botanic team @oscurity on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much for sharing this, I absolutely forgot about all the benefits of aloe. Plus I am going to note some of your tips; I also water my plant around once every two weeks..
Also thank you for mentioning Staw Wars here, I didn't know! ;P

Dear @lolawrites,
Our previous proposal expired end of December and the Hivebuzz project is not funded anymore. May we ask you to review and support our new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248)?
Thank you for your help!