Sort:  

hahaha - You see, we have an expression here (although I know the translation wouldn't sound that good) that says something like - "Hundred people, hundred moods!

I'm saying this because I'm thinking about moving out of the city quite often lately. Therefore, I made a following plan for my retirement. I'll spend 4 months in the city (mostly late autumn and winter months), 2 months of early spring in the country (close to nature), 4 months (from late spring to early autumn) on the coast (close to the beaches and other kind of nature), and remaining 2 months in autumn again in the countryside.

That's the plan! 😉 The only thing that I don't know, are my (future) grandchildren going to spoil it as I know up front I won't be able to turn down my children if they ask me to babysit them. 😊

My grandchildren are the only reason I live in cold, snowy Wisconsin! But I love them so much and I am so glad they are part of my life!

I can understand that entirely, although I'm not a grandma yet, but my kids are grown up, so it could happen any time soon. 😊

My parents moved south when my kids were young teens and although we tried to visit them, it was hard to as the kids got jobs and were busy with school activities Their grandparents were not here to attend the events, and they were seldom here for holidays, and sent cards for birthdays. My father has passed away and my 86yr old mother moved back here to be near the kids and she has a hard time understanding why they don't spend more time with her. They do send cards.

Well, your mom is different generation and today's life speed is hard to understand for those people. (My mom past away 2 years ago at the age of 98, so I kinda understand what are you dealing with.)
On the other hand, cards can't replace the presence, and from that perspective I can understand your mother.
At the same time, no one can blame your kids either as they didn't build that more close relation with their grandparents when they were younger. And from that perspective, your mom shouldn't expect from your kids to act as it's Christmas every day (although, I wouldn't be surprised if she does).
Maybe the both sides need a little push, your kids a forward one, while your mom a backward one (to lower her expectations). I know it might take a lot of efforts, explaining and diplomacy for the one who would take the obligation for those pushes. 😊