Tree Challenge-An oddity in the woods!

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

img_0.117119824316343.jpg

It took me a while to figure out this circle of wood! What could it possibly be? I had never seen anything like it!

.
I attempted to look it up, and finally found a clue, but the closest I found to what it might be called is 'barrier wood'

I learned that when a tree is injured it walls off the decay and prevents the spread of the decay by sealing off the damage with barrier wood that is unsuitable for the spread of the disease organism.

img_0.558440818734436.jpg

This oak tree is in my yard and you can see the barrier wood that it has formed around these old injuries.

img_0.04767474577722715.jpg

The barrier wood that I found on the ground in the woods must be pretty tough! Much of the rest of the tree had rotted away.

Rules for the challenge:Amazing Nature Tree Challenge

I have set hive-127788 as a 5% beneficiary for this post. If all the Community members shared a percentage of their awards with the Community account the communities that we enjoy would grow!

You can easily see who the beneficiaries are on each post by clicking on the $ amount that a post has earned

If you have staked ARCHON tokens and set archon-gov as at least a 5% beneficiary you will receive votes from the ARCHON voting trail.



All comments written on Feathered Friends, Shadow Hunters, and Ladies of Hive Community posts receive staked ARCHON tokens.

img_0.05820656228165482.jpg

uxeumm.png

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!

The new Shadow Hunters Contest rules HERE

Sponsored by Ecency


plumes.png

80pli5.png

by @barbara-orenya

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!


plumes.png

Partnered with ARCHON


Comment and earn tokens!

Posted using Ecency Love

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 32 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

Thanks Pix!
!BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @melinda010100 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 3 years ago  

Hello dear friend @ melinda010100 good afternoon
What a beautiful post, very interesting what you let us know, I did not know this terminology for the cure of a wounded tree, I really appreciate that you let us know this information and the beautiful photographs
have a wonderful night and a happy rest

Thanks! I still wonder if there is an actual name for that circle of wood! Maybe someone knows and will tell us but 'barrier wood' was the only term I found.

 3 years ago  

I don’t think I’ve heard the term ‘Barrier wood’ before and it’s a great word for this . Trees are smart to seal off the decay so it doesn’t affect the rest of the tree.

That was the only description that I found for it. Maybe someone else know another name for it! They are smart, aren't they?

Great one !!

Thank you! 😘

Wow such an amazing captured 😍🙏

Thanks! I thought it was rather odd!

everyone will see it like their way 😬

What an original entry and I see those everywhere in my steemit days I used this for the Google eyes contest

I must have missed those! I have never seen this before.

Nature is wise and always manages :-). "Barrier wood" is probably the most appropriate term. In the human world, a "scar" would correspond to this. However, it is not wood. The tree "heals" (in case of great damage) only the damaged bark and mesh (bast) so that it does not leak nutrients and sap. For minor damage, he heals the entire "wound".
So it's actually "condensed" bark.

Thank you for participating in the weekly challenge @melinda010100.

curator.png

Nature is wise! Thanks for hosting this contest. It takes a while to get the word out about any new contest.