Amazing Nature Contest Entry - Moths and Toads

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

My entry for the Amazing Nature Contest

Have you noticed recently some new creatures? I have and happy to share what I found this week. Almost everyday I carry the camera at work, because if I have 5 minutes to spare outside I may see something extraordinary. Or, not so extraordinary, but worth to be captured. However, since I have begun shooting at everything, first with the phone camera, my mates at work used to call me when they see something unusual. I will drop everything, grab the camera and run to see what they have found. This is how I came across to this moth.

I enchanced the colours a bit, because the moth was almost invisible on the wall. Depending on the angle you look at, it blends so well and you could easily miss to see it. Although you can see that the colour is beige, brown, in reallity it looked more greyish.

PSX_20210730_072130.jpg

I like the moths, they are easy to photograph as they can stay still, not like the butterflies. And look how fluffy they are.

PSX_20210730_072223.jpg

I found it difficult to identify it. My app google lens was't very helpful. Does anyone know what kind this moth is?

PSX_20210730_072333.jpg

Move on from moths to toads. First I saw with the corner of my eye something moving from the path to the grass. I still did not know what it might be, but a second one hopped and it was a froggie. Technically is a baby toad. This is where I got confused, frog or toad? Honestly I know next to nothing about them. Simply because I have never been interested. Oh, and I had no camera this time and of course until I reached the office I encountered another one. I knew the phone will not be good enough and did not bother to take it out.

On the next day I was equipped with the camera and knowing they were around I wasn't disappointed.

PSX_20210730_073935.jpg

The toad is small, very small - less than an inch. From afar it looked all one colour - dark brown, but in fact it is covered with dots in green, black and rusty colour. And according to google lens this might be green toad.

20210727073026_IMG_5179.JPG

Like the moth, the toad was well blended and if it was still, I might pass by without noticing.

20210727072957_IMG_5170.JPG

PSX_20210730_074619.jpg

As you can see some photos I zoomed to give you better idea of its appearence. And luckily the little one turned around to give me more options of shooting.

20210727073007_IMG_5173.JPG

I must admit as much as I did not like them toads,this little one looked kinda of cutie. Especially when stared at the camera.

What I have found this week was new and amazing. Amazing how these creatures use the environment to hide and become invisible. Amazing how many live so close to us and perhaps most of the people got no clue about them.

And that's all for now.

Happy Friday! Weekend is almost near!

aisrfr.png

banner created by @barbara-orenya

AmBan.jpg

Thank you for viewing.

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

Very impressive close up shots. Good job! :)

@tipu curate

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much for the support.
The tele lens helped a lot. I was not very close to scare the critters.

 3 years ago  

Great pictures @nelinoeva .. they all look very well camouflaged, especially the moth 🧐

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much. I still don't know what kind of moth this is.

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Beauty post neli!!!

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much @oscurity 😀

awesome post - supported!

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much!

I cant decide who is my fave... after all maybe froggie - cause the contrast between this nature's creature and human-created-artificial texture, one dont expect both to match. it was (a bit) refreshing visual for me.
and I do know how hard to shoot those unnoticeable grey masters of mimicry, esp. when they sit on a dark grey surface like sprout's bark. job well done! casted my voice for your entry in this round of the contest.

 3 years ago  

Thank you so much @qwerrie! 😀
Much appreciated!

 3 years ago  

how are you dear friend @nelinoeva good afternoon
Nature is incredible, it does beautiful things, it always gives these animals the necessary disguise to go unnoticed in nature.
I appreciate that you let us know these images
I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid afternoon

 3 years ago  

Thank you @jlufer, nature is so full of surprises.