Fun Counting Birds for Amazing Nature Thematic Challenge

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

When I saw the new challenge in Amazing Nature Community I thought to myself, this is not a difficult task, for me at least. @bucipuci's idea is to count birds in one hour and share our experience. For more details see the post here 👉Amazing Nature Contest: Thematic Challenge - #2/1/22.

So, here we go, this is my entry for the Amazing Nature Thematic Challenge.

I have no time during the week, while the challenge is running to go out to do the count. However, each time I am out with the dog, mainly in weekends and holidays, I spent at least an hour photographing birds. That is why I will choose a day of one of the days off with photos I haven't published to join the challenge,

The day I choose is January 3rd. I was still having my holidays and the mild temperature let us stay outside a bit longer. The overcast on the other hand did not help at all to make outstanding photos.

The numerous birds that we see all the time (I really did not count them) are seagulls, pigeons, jackdaws, sparrows, crows. Magpies appear to be more than previous years. But since I had not in mind the task, I did not count of photograph them. Except for this single sparrow. I always take a photo of sparrows. They are rather entertaining.

PSX_20220113_074924.jpg
This is male tree sparrow. It differs from the house sparrow by the black patch on the cheeks. Before I had no clue that two types of sparrows actually live around my home. Moreover, I had no clue how many other small birds also can be found and I was wrongly thinking they all are sparrows.

If I have to follow the path during the walk, the first bird I photographed on that day is the Green Woodpecker, who I wish to believe is the same one I saw as a fledgling last year and now becoming fully grown up adult bird. His specific call like laughter directs us where he is, although sometimes he silently appears on a tree or on the grass.

PSX_20220113_075949.jpg
Again it is a male, recognized by the red moustache. I only meet the male and not yet female in our local area. Otherwise in the big park in the town, I have seen both male and female Green Woodpeckers.

It always makes my day. Seeing and photographing the greeny is a joy. Such a beauty.
So, here I count one Green Woodpecker.

Next is the wren. Here the little bugger showed his better side.

PSX_20220113_165344.jpg

I am happy to say the population of wrens in our area increased. I may not be able to snap a photo or two, but almost each time I can see or just hear wrens, not once, but few times and from different places.

This day was not an exception as another wren hid under a car, which made the shot blurry but I will share it anyway, just to get an idea.

PSX_20220113_170829.jpg

By the end of the walk, I saw one more wren. This photo is a proof, but can you see it? Too many branches and twigs.

20220103104258_IMG_3850.JPG

But I can count 3 wrens.

Another cute birdie I saw that day is the siskin, both male and female. The male is more atractive with its yellow plumage. He was pecking seeds not far from me and let me do these shots. But before that he posed on the bare shrub branch.

PSX_20220113_184018.jpg

Of course he stopped and looked at me, more like he was annoyed for being interrupted, or maybe this is curiousity.

PSX_20220113_184218.jpg

PSX_20220113_184456.jpg

His back is not so bright yellow, but look at the waves on the back and the contrast with the black. He is definitely a beautiful one.

Further the female also was having lunch. Her plumage is paler and the yellow is very scarce. She got though nice black stripes on her belly. She is stripey all over.

PSX_20220113_185133.jpg

PSX_20220113_185354.jpg

Siskin - 2

Another hungry bird - the hawfinch. Look at the beak, covered with something the bird has just eating. I am glad to say I see more often hawfinches. This time I saw one only, but other days there are two or three at the same tree. They prefer to perch high.

PSX_20220113_185820.jpg

So my count here is one Hawfinch.

One more representative of the finch family - the chaffinch or common finch. These birds, size of a sparrow are also numerous and they like to mix with the sparrows.

PSX_20220113_190352.jpg

Honestly, I don't remember how many of them I saw that day. Since I have only one photo with one bird, that will be my count - one chaffinch.

And now, to recap, here is my count of the day.

SpeciesNumber
Green woodpecker1
Wren3
Siskin2
Hawfinch1
Chaffinch1

I did not put in the table the sparrows, because I really don't know how many I saw. Same goes for the great and blue tits. Altogether each time I am out birdwatching, I know I can see either a new bird, or some amazing moments of the life of our feathered friends. It is a hobby I discovered couple of yesrs ago. It helped me to expand my knowledge and to become more aware about the surrounding world.

aisrfr.png

banner created by @barbara-orenya

AmBan.jpg

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for viewing.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

signature_2.gif

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Thank you for entering the competition.
Really great list of feathers :-). Often people do not realize how many birds they meet every day and how important they are to our harmonious relationship with nature.

mod.png

 2 years ago  

It would be a shame not to submit an entry, when it comes to birds. 🙂

 2 years ago  

:-)

thanks for sharing great photo @nelinoeva 🥰🥰🥰🙏

 2 years ago  

Thank you kindly.

Nice number of birds while out on the day Neli, lovely photography to show each in their natural surroundings.

 2 years ago  

Thank you Joan, it is always a fun to chase the birds with the camera.

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Beauty photos nely!

Hello @nelinoeva!

nice shoootssss
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

This is amazing things to get see lots of birds in a day as here hardly get local sparrow and can't take pictures because they fly away. It's amazing thing to get see different types of birds with it's color.

 2 years ago  

Thank you kindly.
I am lucky to be surrounded with so many birds. There are hedgehogs and bats and many if the residents do not notice them.