My Hunting for Wildlife Footprints for Amazing Nature Contest: Thematic Challenge -#4/1/21

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210130_131455.jpg

To be able to hunt for wildlife footprints, three important factors are needed to me - a weekend, a daylight and a friend with his/her car to drive me to the forest where the wildlife can be found. 🙂 That is why I am nearly late with this post.
Luckily, today all factors converged: it is Saturday, my friend was going skiing at about noon and invited me to join him. The snow was falling lazily and even the temperature was perfect. What else could I wish? Only fresh and clear footprints on the snow, but here was the point failure awaited me - lots and lots of wonderful, varied footprints were covered with morning snow, so that I could only guess their owners, o-ho-ho 😟... That is why decided to edit this post and add four photos with FRESH footprints from Sunday, the next day. Here they are!
IMG_20210131_144611.jpg

IMG_20210131_121545.jpg

It was a short walk but I found a FRESH chain of footprints. I think it can belong to a young deer (roe?) but I was puzzled why they lead to the spruce with branches bent low to the ground. It might be hiding their. Or was that a different animal?

IMG_20210131_121553.jpg

IMG_20210131_145436.jpg

The new photos look better but my story was about a less successful day, my Saturday walk. It is below.

IMG_20210130_161836.jpg

I took a long walk along the ski track. The snow was soft and deep, so I could not step far aside, unfortunately. 🙂

IMG_20210130_171753.jpg

There were numbers of "paths" leading across the track deep into the forest with no chance to recognize the animals they belong to.

IMG_20210130_161413.jpg

IMG_20210130_161524.jpg

IMG_20210130_162226.jpg

IMG_20210130_162834.jpg

Some of my findings looked like little child's footprints. If only they decided to walk with their feet naked. Were they left by hares?

IMG_20210130_130144.jpg

IMG_20210130_125629.jpg

IMG_20210130_125048.jpg

IMG_20210130_130654.jpg

In one place I noticed footprints around a very young tree. I think it was a hungry hare gnawing at its tender bark, what else?

IMG_20210130_162659.jpg

And around one more tree nearby.

IMG_20210130_162548.jpg

IMG_20210130_130758.jpg

There would be nothing unusual in it, but just look at the distance between the trees and the other places with footprints! Do they really jump so far?!

IMG_20210130_162501.jpg

Were they two hares or just one which jumped so far?

IMG_20210130_130844_2.jpg

Well, some more of footprints and traces to finish my post about my Saturday walk in amazing nature, not as successful as I expected but still very pleasant.

IMG_20210130_125546.jpg
IMG_20210130_162755.jpg

This is my entry to the wonderful contest hosted by @bucipuci.
5% of this post income goes to @hive-127788

image.png
This amazing banner was created by @barbara-orenya.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Thank you for entering the competition.
For unclear prints, the expert also has a lot of work to do with the determinant :-). Most of the tracks you photograph really belong to the hares :-)

mod.png

Thank you for determination😁. That was the best I could do today, even with some editing. The morning snowfall made its work.

 3 years ago  

It's my pleasure :-)

Dear @bucipuci, I edited this post adding 4 photos of today with explanations, just because they contain better footprints. I hope it is allowed. If not - I will change the post back.

 3 years ago  

There is nothing about editing in the rules, so it's ok :-)

Thanks for the reply ❄️

 3 years ago  

:-D

Beautiful winter pictures 🥰❄️☃️

Thank you @janaliana for stopping by and your nice words!


curator2.png

Thank you for the support!

I guess, a big part of the traces in your photos are the traces of snow balls dropped down from the trees branches. hmmm.

Sorry for the quality of my photos that made you think that. They are holes, not lumps. Сожалею, что так показалось. Я пыталась "проявить" как-то белое на белом, меняла экспозицию на уже сделанных телефоном фото. Возможно, получилось непонятно, но это реально углубления, присыпанные снегом. Фото предыдущего поста я делала там же, но тогда следы были хоть и старые, но всё же определяемые. Сегодня свежим влажным снегом все следы присыпало. Короче — обижаете, сэр.

I edited this post with 4 photos of today, just because they contain better footprints.

super. you added +4 more? I will have a look.

Успела сделать несколько панорамных снимков, но когда нашла следы даже с видимыми копытцами, телефон отказался работать при морозе -5. То ли у меня какой-нибудь тропический вариант 🙂, то ли просто пора менять 😞.

да у многих та же проблема. у моей камеры - изношенные аккумуляторы. ношу в кармане запасной, и все равно. та же фигня. частенько не могу что то заснять: сел! а с телефоном то все еще хуже, да.

Обидно, что заряда полно еще, а он отключается... жуть, когда красивая картинка уходит! Карман не спасает.

 3 years ago  

hello dear friend @olgavita good afternoon
It's good that you got someone to catch you in the forest, this time I couldn't get any fresh prints, I was left out of the contest.

What beautiful photographs of footprints you have obtained, it is a pity that you have not managed to know what animal they were made.

I appreciate very much that you showed us these beautiful photographs, I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid afternoon

Thank you dear friend for your kind words. Unfortunately, the snow was not good for clear footprints but I enjoyed the "hunting" 🙂