Nesting Birds: Update

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

Title.JPG

     
     
     This is an update on my previous post where I featured a couple of bird's nests by my house. If you didn't read it, I've been observing a nest of doves and a nest of starlings. Both, now, have young.

     First, the starlings. One morning I noticed a youngling perched precariously near the edge of the arborvitae.

     
StarlingYoung1.JPG

     
     As I watched the bird bob up and down on the branch as it blew in the wind, I thought of the youngling I saw on my lawn previously. Did that one fall out of the shrub? This one looked to be at a similar stage of development.

     It would occasionally flutter it's wings and, when it did, I would pray that it didn't fall.

     
StarlingYoung2.JPG

     
     To my relief, the little bird eventually fluttered it's way back into the safety of the inner arborvitae.

     

ezgif.com-gif-maker22.gif

     
     
     And, finally, an update on the doves. Unfortunately, there isn't much to share here. The nest has been completely empty for about a week now. I saw one of the parents briefly one day, but there's no young anywhere to be seen.

     It's my understanding that the young don't wander too far from the nest for the first couple of weeks. But, I don't know how far is "too far". I hope everyone is safe and healthy.

     Doves will have multiple broods per season and reuse the same nests. So, I'll keep an eye out for the doves to return to the nest. Until then, it remains like so...

     
EmptyNest1.JPG

     

LogoStripSmaller.gif

     
     Wherever we are, we are surrounded by nature. It's always trying to communicate with us. Take time to notice. #NoticeNature.
     


All gifs and images are my own unless otherwise stated.


     

LogoStripSmaller.gif

     


     

Collect/Trade cards! Battle in tournaments! Join a guild! Earn crypto! Explore The Splinterlands and join the fun! Click The Banner Below...
SplinterlandsLink.jpg

     


     

Join the family...

Sort:  

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Phew! Glad the little one didn't fall off of the branch!