My Solo Plight to Mt. Pulag (PART 6) : I'm on the top of the world

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

Hive_Pulag_Cover Photos.png

♪♪ Such a feelin's comin' over me
There is wonder in most every thing I see
Not a cloud in the sky, got the sun in my eyes
And I won't be surprised if it's a dream ♪♪


Mt. Pulag has always been a dream. When I used to climb in my early 20s, there were only three mountains on my list, namely: Mt. Pulag, Mt. Guiting-guiting, and Mt. Apo. That's why when I was there watching what only appeared in my imagination before, I couldn't help but sing a song from the Carpenters. If you want to sing the entire song, you can, but I suggest you set it aside (for now) and join me instead as I revisit another leg of my Mt. Pulag climb.

As you can remember, I've posted Part 1 of my journey to the Philippines' 3rd highest peak in Photography Lovers while Parts 2-5 were posted in the Haveyoubeenhere community. But I felt this new post fits best in this community as it will showcase one of the best landscapes of the Philippines. I'm excited as this is my first time posting in the Amazing Nature community, too! 😁

This is one hell of an adventure up the mountains of Benguet, Philippines. Come with me!


No turning back

IMG_20190224_065310.jpg

In Part 5, we reached one of the towers or smaller hills in Pulag. I believe it was the Ranger Station that assigned tourists to spots where they can watch the sunset. One spot can only accommodate a certain number of people without damaging the natural state of Pulag. Luckily, we were assigned to a spot right next to Mt. Pulag's peak.

IMG_20190224_065256.jpg

Everyone was astonished by what they saw that morning. I personally felt opening a door that led me to the Narnia of the Philippines. I thought that was it, we can go down after watching the sunrise and the enormous sea of clouds.

But Chi, our guide, pointed to the bigger hill next to where we stood. "If you climb that mountain, you'll reach the peak of Mt. Pulag!" She told us we can go up on our own since the trail is established and a lot of people were headed there. "You'll never go astray in that case," she added.

IMG_20190224_065558.jpg

IMG_20190224_065301.jpg

Many from our team declined the offer stating they're good with what they experienced already. But I was eager to pursue the peak; I always want nothing but the best regardless of the need to put in a little more effort to get it. I love challenges especially the ones I know are difficult to conquer. So with only 6 out of 19 brave and relentless souls, we headed towards the peak.

IMG_20190224_065531.jpg

As our guide initially told us, the trail is established; one just had to follow the 15-20 minute nonstop assault to the summit of Mt. Pulag. We started off walking one after the other in a single line but after a few minutes, I decided I could catch up and meet the rest of the group at the summit.

I decided to take things slowly this time. I walked as if I am walking in a park for an afternoon stroll. I breathed the coldest breeze I've encountered in my life and I stopped somewhere in the middle of my climb to the summit.

I wondered why I had to meet Gio. Of all people, why him? Why do I have to be shattered into a million irreparable pieces?

I could've chosen to give my thoughts the full authority to take charge of where my attention goes to, but I took control and told myself that the beauty right in front of me was more important than anything else. So I moved forward, alone and with only my GoPro, Nuknee (my DSLR), and my phone with me.

IMG_20190224_070029.jpg

IMG_20190224_070708.jpg

IMG_20190224_070724.jpg

IMG_20190224_065553.jpg

I couldn't help but pause every now and then and ask strangers to take photos of me. I've traveled solo for work before and I'm convinced that strangers take the best photos (especially in moments when there are no other options haha 😂). It's better to have at least one photo regardless of the quality. Just glad this photo (about 50 meters away from the summit) came out beautifully.

IMG_20190224_065941.jpg

IMG_20190224_065404.jpg

IMG_20190224_074003.jpg


The Summit

Because I was taking photos the entire time I was hiking up the summit, it took me more than 20 minutes to reach it! 🤣 When I finally found my group, they asked what took me so long. I told them I was just savoring the hike.

And there, the 360° view from the summit was priceless. I've seen a few mountains before I met Mt. Pulag but this was different in all ways possible.

IMG_20190224_072655.jpg

It was oozing with confidence and energy but at the same time peace flowed naturally like how rivers flowed to the ocean. I can't help but smile ear to ear when I reached the top. I was telling myself that it's a shame that a heartbreak pushed me to go here, that I felt there's no other way to escape the pain but climb Pulag. It's a shame, because, without the heartbreak, I would've not found the courage to take this route all by myself.

Mt. Pulag should be more than just an escape plan. It shouldn't be an escape plan ever again. I might be too late, but glad I still learned it.

IMG_20190224_072659.jpg

The extra 15 minutes I spent taking pictures was a great call since there were plenty of tourists who arrived early than my group. And do you know why they aren't climbing down yet? They're lining up for something: a chance to snap a photo with the famous Mt. Pulag signage, which I'd agree, completes the climb.

IMG_20190224_071424.jpg

Look at that crowd waiting for their turn!

GOPR6320.JPG

So while waiting for us to be called, I grabbed the free time to take more photos and to look at Pulag like I'm never ever seeing it again (although I intend to go back through a different route).

GOPR6309.JPG

IMG_20190224_072615.jpg

IMG_20190224_072604.jpg

GOPR6317.JPG

GOPR6307.JPG

And there, finally, our turn came and we had to make it quick since many tourists were still waiting.

IMG_20190224_073133.jpg

And finally, my solo pose with the Mt. Pulag summit signage. I bought that Giordano brown jacket about two years before the climb with thoughts that one day, I'll meet Pulag. Two years later, I met her. And although I came with the heaviest heart, all experiences that brought me down melted right there and then. Pulag might have not erased it for good, but it mended some parts of it. It took some of it and buried it somewhere in this vast land. And for that, I'll always be grateful.

IMG_20190224_073459.jpg

IMG_20190224_073452.jpg


I'd like to end this post by saying that I am lucky to have an escape plan, in my case this mountain in Benguet. I would've gone mad without an avenue for my grief to come out, for my misery to be reflected upon. This trip marked the start not just of a new chapter, but an entire book of my life. It might have taken few more months to fully heal, but without this trip, without this encounter with the finest natural creations of the Almighty, I won't be who I am now. I won't be where I am now.

I owe a lot to Pulag and one day, I hope to give back.

This sounds like a parting message, but you're wrong, I still have a few more things to show you. So once again, thank you for joining me and see you in the next one!


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potentials. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

The storytelling is on point as always. But the photos ooze a different vibe that made we look at some of the earlier post of this Mt. Paulag again. !discovery 35


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

:) whoa, that's quite a crowd up there.. :P

I was also shocked when I arrived at the peak. It used to be a weekend destination before the pandemic.

Hindi ko kaya ang Mt.Pulag 😊 I hope someday I'll be able to climb again 😊

Hello @jezwanderer! It was an easy climb if we take out the freezing cold weather. Mt. Pulag will always be there waiting for you. I hope you can see her one day. :)