A Beautiful Sublime Sunday - Beauty of the Frost in the Air...

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

For the last four days there has been that strange phenomenon of rings around the sun showing up when there is frost in the air. These rings, especially if they have sun dogs are suppose to give warning of a system or storm moving in. We had some strong winds and cold but no storms. A little further east they got the big blizzards which I'm happy missed us.
We went out for our walk and once we got out into the opening we were treated to this amazing view above us of a large ring showing all around the sun.

Ringed Sun Appears Above Our Road

ring around sun over road and evergreens.JPG

I loved the view of the ring around the sun with the tree silhouettes

Ringed Sun Sitting Above the Poplar and Spruce Trees

ring around sun above spruce and poplar trees.JPG

Not only did I get the pleasure of witnessing this amazing view but my camera has a special creative shot feature which would take a series of photos giving it different filters making for some fascinating effects so I got to enjoy those too - I hope you enjoy them also!

Creative Filter Gives Frosted View to Trees Under Ringed Sun

filtered view gives frosted look to trees under sun with ring around it.JPG

I enjoyed this blue filter which picked up different effects of the frost in the air around the sun as well as adding more color.

Blue Filter Picks Up More of the Rings Around the Sun

blue filter accents ring around sun over path in bush.JPG

This next shot the creative feature in my camera put a pretty greeny blue coloring into the picture.

Colorful Scene of the Rings Around the Sun Above the Trees

colorful rings around sun over tree silhouettes.JPG

Orange Tint Put on Scene of Ringed Sun Above the Trees

ring around sun over trees in orange tint.JPG

Rainbow Effect Given to Scene of Ring Around Sun Over Spruce Tree

rainbow view of ring around sun over trees.JPG

In the photo below I love how my camera, on this creative setting, picked up the details of the trees and highlighted them to give them a frosted look.

Frosty Looking View of Ringed Sun Over Trees

white rings aeound sun frosted look on trees.JPG

Here's what that view looked like without any filters added to it.

Ringed Sun Above the Treetops

ring around sun over spruce and poplar trees.JPG

Here's a view when the sun was a little lower in the sky sitting behind a poplar bluff.

Sun With Ring Around It Shines Through Poplar Tree

ring around sun shining thru poplar trees.JPG

And the final view using that creative feature is monotone with the trees highlighted - I love it!

Ringed Sun Shining Above Highlighted Trees

ring around sun filter high lights it and trees.JPG

All the while as I had stopped to photograph these amazing views my dog Bruno was very patient with me and would lie down as I took my shots. We had many different stops as we turned different corners or climbed to different heights new views would appear and I got quite snap happy!

Bruno Being Patient with Me as I Take My Photos

Bruno lying on road looking at ring around sun.JPG

And the last shot is as the sun was getting lower in the sky yet the rings still appeared adding their beauty to the sky.

Sun Getting Low in Sky Still With Ring Around It

shaded filter colorful ring around sun.JPG

Big shout out to @ace108 for running the Beautiful Sunday tag every week supporting the accounts. Also to @c0ff33a for the Sublime Sunday tag for your random Sunday posts!

The photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS.

Thanks for stopping by!

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

Sort:  

Ringed sun. I haven't heard or seen this before. I am wondering how amazing nature is. There are lots of mysterious things that we don't even understand.
Your camera does wonders too.
Thanks for sharing

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 650 posts.
Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Lovely photos here and that filter effects work wonders with the halo.
I will also try filters next time as we get many of the halo's being in the Cape of Storms.
Well done my friend.

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@papilloncharity(1/10) tipped @porters (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

I thought the sun out should be a good day for the birds too.

I've never seen anything like that here. it's fascinating! And loved how the filters brought out different things in the photos.