MyPictureDay with Wildflowers and Feathered Friends...

in Amazing Nature4 years ago

It seems most days now that is summer, there are new wildflowers coming into bloom which I like to take a close look at. Come have a look at what I found...

The wild woodland roses have been out for awhile plus we have been having a lot of cloudy days. Without the sun beating down on them, beaching them out a bit, I was able to find one tucked in behind a bush that had really intense pink in it's blooms.

Wild Woodland Rose With Intense Pink Blooms

2 deep pink wild roses and buds.JPG

I really enjoyed the roses and often stopped to smell them - divine!

The bees were really enjoying all the blossoms too.

Close Up Bee in the Rose Blossom

close up bumble bee in wild rose.JPG

They had been blooming for awhile but there were still lots of buds so I'm sure they will be around for awhile

Close Up Wild Woodland Rose Buds

close up rose buds.JPG

As I was taking a closer look I spied a ladybug on the underside of a bud.

Looking Underneath To Find a Ladybug

ladybug on shaded rose buds.JPG

Closer Look at the Ladybug By the Rosebuds

close up lady bug on underside of rose buds.JPG

Among the grasses I found the delicate cut leaf anemone which has small buds and only opens when in full sun so I was happy to catch this one with the blooms wide open!

Cut Leaf Anemone

close look at pink avens plant in bloom.JPG

If you look closely in the photo above you will see a small blue eyed grass bloom. Here is a close up of that flower -

Close Up Blue Eyed Grass

close up blue eyed grass.JPG

And a close up of that lovely pink anemone...

Close Up Cut Leaf Anemone Flower

close up pink avens flower.JPG

There was another flower that was similar to that anemone but was green and the leaves were different. I think it may have been and avens or perhaps a type of cinquefoil. If you are familiar with this flower let me know.

close up green avens blooms.JPG

Here is a cinquefoil for you in white.

White Cinquefoil Blooms

close up white potentillia type flower.JPG

And close to that where some Heuchera or alumroot blooms. The funny thing about this plant is it's ability to numb your mouth if you chew on a leaf. That would be good if you had a toothache.

Close Up 3 Heuchera Blooms

3 heuchera blooms tigerlilies in background.JPG

Close Up Heuchera Richardsonii (Alumroot)

close up heuchera bloom tigerlily beside it.JPG

You will see in the photo above a tiger lily which are beautiful blooms. This is our provincial flower and it is illegal to pick them.

Let's have a close look...

Close Up Tiger Lily

close up tiger lily in partial shade.JPG

Close Up Tiger Lily With Buds Ready to Burst

close up tigerlily with 2 buds.JPG

They was quite a number off them in this one patch which really added some color.

Display of Tiger Lilies Growing Along the Ditch

tigerlily bloom with 2 buds and group of tigerlies behind.JPG

Not far away were another couple of blooming flowers, the fleabane and bedstraw.
As the name says in flea bane - it was used to repel fleas although it is toxic to dogs.

The bedstraw as the name implies was used to stuff mattresses for it had a sweet smell and grew in abundance.

Close Up Fleabane Flowers

close up clump of fleabane.JPG

Close Up Bedstraw

close up of bedstraw.JPG

It was wonderful to see all the wildflowers blooming then I looked up and saw an eagle or a vulture (it was to high to tell which but we have both in this area) soaring above!

Eagle or Vulture Flying By

eagle or vulture in flight by poplar branch.JPG

And back of the house we have an Eastern Phoebe nesting and when I come by she often heads off to the tall pine tree.

Eastern Phoebe Sitting in the Pine Branches

close up pheobe in pine tree.JPG

It may take a double look to find her for her coloring was blending in with the colors on the pine branch.

I hope you enjoyed my picture day full of wildflower blooms! I am gathering a collection of the succession of bloom around my place in the Boreal Forest to put together into a photo book.

image.png

This is my entry to @timsaid 's #MyPictureDay Challenge #11 - supported by @blocktrades and @theycallmedan - find out the details here

My feathered friends are for the #FeatheredFriends community hosted by @melinda010100

The photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS.

Thanks for stopping by!


Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

MINDFULLIFE.png MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Discord II Community**

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

Sort:  

Awesome, love this piece!💝💥

Such beautiful flower pictures - I especially love that Tiger Lilly - it is so very pretty :)

Lovely wildflowers, would like to take a stroll there! We don't have those in the wild.

It did take a second look to find the Phoebe! I love seeing all the different wildflowers from your walk. That anemone is lovely and so are those lilies! Great post!

Thank-you!

I so look forward to your posts! The photos are just a delight! Those roses.... and the tiger lilies...

Glad you enjoy them! I enjoy sharing what a wide variety of wildflowers we have here in the Boreal forests of Saskatchewan!

Absolutely gorgeous captures! Especially love the one with the lady bug!!! They always make me think of my mom :)

Spring and Summer are such beautiful seasons... I cannot wait to get there this side of the world so I can get stuck into the garden again... we are having a bitterly cold Winter this year!

!tip

Happy I could bring back some memories! I keep forgetting that it is a totally different experience on the other side of the world! Keep warm and I'll share my bits of sunshine from the Northern Hemisphere!

🎁 Hi @porters! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Interesting thing about Heuchera! I would love to sniff those wild roses😍 Lovely picture, it made me feel you took me onto a walk in nature. Thank you and have a lovely day!

Very pretty flowers in the wild! 😍 Everyone has a beauty of its own. I love it! I especially like the green flowers. It is such a refreshing sight! 😍😍😍

Thank you for taking us for a walk. It is sooooo refreshing! 😊

Have a beautiful day. ❤

I loved your pictures. Flowers look outstanding! I enjoy the peace they make feel. Lovely post!