Wednesday Walk Discovering a New Forest...

in Amazing Nature4 years ago

Heading out for my morning walk I had previously noticed the bright orange coloring on young trees among the fallen black spruce trees, these I identified as mountain ash trees. This area of forest by our lane had opened up and the new mountain ash trees were the succession of growth for the black spruce which a lot had toppled after many wet years causing the ground to soften and become sodden unable to support the tall spruce trees which would normally sway in the wind. I have shared some shots of those newly sprouting mountain ash in a previous post but while taking some photos of my garden plot I noticed some bright orange coloring in the forest behind it so I went to investigate.

To my surprise there was a whole new growth of forest happening with young mountain ash trees! The old timers say there use to be an old creek that ran through this area and that is where the mountain ash were now growing by the sodden and mossy which could not longer sustain the spruce trees.

I had planted a few mountain ash trees in the yard by my house and every year the birds come in and strip the berries off it doing an amazing job of spreading the seeds. With the autumn colors these newer bird plantings of mountain ash stood out putting on a lovely display. Have a look...

Orange of the Mountain Ash Showing as a Succession of New Growth in the Black Spruce Forest

orange and yellow colors in a woodland scene.JPG

Fall Colors Makes the Mountain Ash Stand Out in the Opening in the Forest

looking into forest with colorful young mountain ash trees.JPG

Bright Orange Young Mountain Ash Trees Coming Up in Opening Where Black Spruce Use to Grow

fall colored young mountain ash by fallen logs.JPG

It was good to see there was some young tamarack trees coming up in this area for some of our big, over 100 year old ones, had succumbed to the sodden ground that had remained wet for too many years.

Young Tamarack Tree with Orange Mountain Ash Behind

looking into woods past young tamarack to orange young mountain ash.JPG

The tamaracks are one of the few coniferous trees to loose their needles in the fall turning a lovely yellow color which usually comes a little later than the yellow of the poplar trees to carry on the Autumn display.

Young Tamarack with It's Needles Starting to Change Color Along With Young Mountain Ash Trees

young tamarick and mountain ash trees add orang and yellows to the landscape.JPG

There was also a young white spruce coming up in this area that looked nice and healthy for it was on a bit of higher and drier ground.

Young White Spruce with Colorful Mountain Ash Behind It

focus on bright orange mountain ash by young spruce.JPG

Another view of the Dying Spruce Being Replaced With Colorful Mountain Ash Trees

creative image  fall colored mountain ash in woods.JPG

Colors in the Mountain Ash Adding a Beautiful Display to the Woodland Scene

creative viewing in to woodland scene fall colored mountain ash.JPG

Along the edge of this opening there was a brilliantly colored larger mountain ash tree (the one I had first noticed when I looked into the forest behind the garden plot) so I worked my way around to where it grew and peered up into it's colorful boughs.

Peering Up Into the Colorful Mountain Ash Tree

looking uyp at moutain ash and spruce trees.JPG

JJ wandered into the forest to see what I was doing. I had just passed a spot by the spruce roots where the squirrel had been making his stash.

Squirrel Stash of Spruce Cones with Borrows Under Tree Roots

squirrel home in holes under spruce roots.JPG

JJ on Fallen Tree Trunk Checking Me Out

JJ on tree trunk among spruce branches.JPG

JJ on tree trunk looking at me.JPG

Shortly after JJ came into the forest an angry squirrel began chattering, giving us heck for coming into his territory!

Close Up Squirrel Checking Us Out

close up squirrel looking at me on branch of spruce.JPG

sideview close up squirrel on tree trunk.JPG

close up squirrel on tree trunk looking at us.JPG

This is my #WednesdayWalk hosted by @tattoodjay go check out his latest post here. He collaborates with @elizacheng and her #MakeMeSmile initiative see her latest post here

image.png

Also my Amazing Nature Contest October 2020 #1 entry. See details here

The photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS.

Thanks for stopping by!


Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

MINDFULLIFE.png MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Discord II Community**

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

Sort:  

Such beautiful fall colors

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

JJ does not get phased by the squirrels most probably indignantly prefers to pretend it does not exist with a good snubbing....

Colours of nature are magical in your forests, wonderful taking a walk through these wooded areas witnessing new growth right before the winter months.

!tip
!BEER


Hey @porters, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @porters! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @joanstewart!

@joanstewart wrote lately about: We Walk We Talk Do We Listen... Feel free to follow @joanstewart if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I was roundly cussed out by a chipmunk, sitting on my compost bin, on Sunday as I took up the black plastic in the Small garden. It had caught the falling acorns and made finding them so easy. This 'munk was NOT happy with me.

The mountain ash are really lovely as they repopulate that area!

You have mastered that SX60 very well my friend.
And I think that you know that I would like the squirrel photos the most.
That forest is a wonderland!

Thank you for this virtual walk in the forest. I used to live in one, and I miss it. 🌱