A Wonderful Escape in the Mountains of Idyllwild, California

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

On my birthday last Saturday, my girlfriend and I decided to for a hike up into the mountains of Idyllwild in southern California.

It's just under three hours away from Los Angeles by car but it feels like you're way out there because this area has such high elevation (5200 feet) that most people don't even know exists within the Greater LA Area.

This particular spot is known for its hiking trails as well as classic rock climbing routes. There are also plenty of scenic views along with some interesting history which we learned during our short time here.

Once we parked at the trailhead, we couldn't ignore the magnificent rock formation in front of us, Tahquitz Rock.

Its climbing history is quite impressive as the first person to climb the rock was back in 1936. The rock formation looks like a castle in the sky. I was enamored by the rock, which I longed to climb to the top of it like so many have in its' history. But that'll be for another day!

Thus, we decided to take a few pictures and then head off to begin our hike: the Ernie Maxwell Scenic Trail.

The first part was through a forested path lined with tall trees that provided shade until we came across the beautiful view of another rock formation named Suicide Rock.

This is yet another classic rock climbing destination in Idyllwild. It was a beautiful sight to behold.

After we were done taking pictures of Suicide Rock, we continued hiking for a while and noticed these blood-red trees.

I had never seen them before and wondered what they were. What a strange looking tree! It looked like arteries growing out of the ground.

After a little while, we reached a lookout point and took a short rest. From there, we could see the entire valley.

We admired the view for a moment. It was a very serene landscape with a lot of greenery, topped with clear blue skies.

We then continued hiking and came across a massive round boulder along the path.

I was astounded by this boulder and thought it must have been a meteorite or something. My climbing instinct told me "You should climb it!". But I had to tell that pesky brain of mine "Nope, you're gonna fall and break a leg if you do." So sadly, I did not.

After we were done admiring it, we started walking again. I admired the trees and rocks around me and was surprised to see how beautiful everything was. I didn't expect anything like this to be here. I was amazed by the scenery of Idyllwild. I felt like I was in a different world.

After we walked for about an hour, we finally came to the end of the trail and made our way back. Then, we noticed a gray cloud in the sky and realized that it wasn't just a cloud but a rainstorm.

At first, the rain was light and it didn't bother us much. It was a hot day so we wanted some relief from the sun. The rain drops felt nice and refreshing.

But it didn't stop raining for long and we soon found ourselves getting wetter. We found shelter in the shade of some trees and waited it out.

I heard the raindrops hitting the leaves as they fell from a dark gray sky to the ground. The sound was soothing. It was like comforting music that made me want to close my eyes and relax. I felt myself being drawn into a trance by it.

Pressing on, we came upon another clearing and gazed at the rain misting the trees. It was a very beautiful sight.

Then, after a few minutes, we passed by the blood-red trees once again but they looked more vibrant now. They were almost glowing.

I was amazed at how red the trees were turning out to be. They were so pretty.

After that, we continued walking back to the car. The rain was getting light, the sky was turning blue, and the trail was becoming serene. The hike back was very enjoyable despite the rain and gave the trail a completely new vibe.

We stopped in awe at another clearing that was surrounded by trees. Even though there was no rain left, the air still felt so fresh. And the smell of the pine was incredible. I loved the smell. It was intoxicating.

We were almost back to the car when we noticed Tahquitz Rock and Suicide Rock looming over us once again.

I couldn't help but smile at these two rocks. Both were majestic sights that I wished that I could climb someday.

Eventually, we made our way back to the car and drove home. We were both exhausted but it was definitely worth it. I would love to come back here again someday and climb. It's a wonderful place to refresh your mind, body, and soul.


All images taken by me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @sizzlinkola! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.
You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The sight is amazing, loved the trees.

Indeed it is! I miss it already.

Hi @sizzlinkola, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

We appreciate your work and your publication has been hand selected by the geography curation team on behalf of the Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Awesome, thank you for the support!

Great post - I love the great views and all the rocks etc that you passed. Most impressive was that tree or the mult-trunk tree. I had to find out its name. It is the Texas Madrone, Naked Indian and Lady's Leg.