Swamp Creatures

Here's a few swamp creatures for #amazingnature and #featheredfriends
P6138331.jpg
I went to visit the local marsh and found that it was completely covered in tiny green water plants. These turtles crawled out of the muck mostly covered in the tiny green leaves hoping to catch some sun rays.
P6138327.jpg
This smaller turtle was closer to shore. It looks like a painted turtle.
P6138325.jpg
The frogs were looking nice and camouflage in the layer of green on top of the water.
P6138293.jpg
These tiny little green leaves are known as duckweed. From a distance it looks like a bunch of algae but in fact it is thousands of tiny little leaves floating on the surface of the water. I am not sure if the tiny white flower is part of the duckweed or if it is a different water plant that is blooming.
P6138297.jpg
Here's a bigger patch of the tiny white flowers off in the distance on the lake.
P6138295.jpg
True to its name the duckweed has attracted a mallard who is foraging off of it.
P6138347.jpg
The mallard looks pretty happy pigging out on all this duckweed.
P6138351.jpg
While I was taking pictures the mallard decided to jump up on the floating dock next to me. I think he though I might of had some treats for him. He looks pretty ridiculous with all the duckweed covering his face and breast.
P6138352.jpg
The duck was quite tame and barely waddled out of my way when I passed by him on the dock.
P6138337.jpg
I finally spotted a family of wood ducks way off in the distance feasting on the duckweed. I wish these wood ducks weren't so shy. They always stay far away from humans.

Sort:  

The green things, great shoot. I like them :)

It was in great abundance on the lake. I wonder if it's edible for humans.

Hahaha love how the ducks are covered in the green mess :) Reminds me the bees covered in pollen.

He looks pretty proud of his new attire.

Haha yep :D

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Very nice photos of the ducks! The duck weeds become like sparkles on his face! Very handsome duck!

It's a spa treatment as well as a meal for them.

Oh! Spa treatment! Now I want to jump in for my treatment too! I hope the ducks will have a parting massage for me too. LoL

You might end up with the extra "medicinal" leach treatment as well in those waters :-0

Haha , duckweed and more duckweed they don't mind at all been covered in duckweed great duckweed post..lol 🤣

so much duckweed everywhere lol

I was at a park in Bangkok last week and i saw in a small lake a Monitor Lizard with his head just sticking out of the lake water and he head was covered in duckweed and the lake was to he was thinking he was all camouflaged and that no one could see him but i did and got some photos of him i should post it for #amazingnature 🤣

Cool I love monitor lizards. Maybe he was waiting to ambush a duck.

Cool i have some pretty awesome monitor lizards i will put a post together in the next couple of days. Maybe so he was looking very cunning 🤣

This entire thing is such a great shoot! I love the duckweed and I have never seen one covered like this! It must be pretty good !! :)

They are excellent shots, but, I love the turtles in the thumbnail and the lone flower sticking up! Thanks for sharing these!

Upped and Reposted

!tip

Thanks, I always thought it was just algae until I looked a bit closer.

🎁 Hi @sketch.and.jam! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

The marsh looks great and mysterious with all that duckweed thing :) Great little report. The first photograph looks like some surreal landscape.

They rule the pond.

cool shots - they are all quite covered with those weeds :)

They probably eat that stuff too, well fed critters.