Swamp Critters

Here are a few swamp critters I spotted yesterday.
p9062796_copy.jpg
This little swamp area is always good for spotting turtles everywhere.

p9062798_copy.jpg
I took these shots later in the day so there aren't as many turtles out as usual.

p9062793_copy.jpg
If I had come here early in the morning the entire log would be covered in turtles.

p9062789_copy.jpg
All these guys appear to be painted turtles but I have seen big snappers here sometimes.

p9062795_copy.jpg
A couple mallard were hanging out eating all the duck weed. This guy appears to be molting everywhere.

20210901_190516_copy.jpg
Look at this soup of various algae and duck weed. What a green soup that attracts various animals.

p9062794_copy.jpg
All sorts of frogs lurk around under the green duckweed.

20210901_191014.jpg
Most of they leap away as you approach the swamp edge, but every now and then you can find a fearless one that thinks it is too camouflage to see. I got this shot with my cell phone right next to it.

p9062826_copy.jpg
Now for a random shot of a swampy fish tank I have at home. This is the king angel fish of the tank that rules over the smaller guppies and neons. I wonder if the swamp out in the wild has some random fish lurking around under all that duckweed.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

Really nice light and colors in these shots

Pure green. I have to try and get there in the morning to see how many turtles are covering everything.

Very extraordinary picture.
I'd like to ask.
Are there no venomous animals like snakes in the water?
Because I saw ducks playing there too.

Yeah I got bitten a few times, one of the risks you take around swamps.

Yeah, that's why I don't like playing in the swamp.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

and now you're full of mosquito bites? I like the colors of the first picture! 👍

Yeah I got bitten a few times, one of the risks you take around swamps.

Loved the close up of the frog. :))

There were loads of frogs in there, around 10 hopped away before I could get a shot of all of their heads sticking out of the duckweed.

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

beautiful photos

Nice swamp critters photography.