The Beauty with Thorns - Mimosa

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

photo_2021-01-26_09-32-11.jpg

How you introduce it? A weed? Mimosa is considered a weed but more than that there are many other amazing facts hidden behind it. In the arrangement, it is a plant that runs on the land surface, with sharp thorns. Spread using seeds. It is very common in grasslands. In my house, I found them in the grassland where we don't step-on regularly.

photo_2021-01-26_09-32-01.jpg

6.30 a.m

The specialty of this plant is, the leaves are reacting to the tough and light conditions. First, let's discuss its reaction to light. I did the first visit early in the morning, the time was about 6.30 a.m. The outside was a little dark but enough to maintain the vision. So I noticed the leaves of the plant are sleeping but flowers already bloomed.

photo_2021-01-26_09-31-52.jpg

8.30 a.m

Again I visited at 8.30 a.m and the leaves were well opened. In this time you can give a little tap to the leaves and you can observe the leaves are slowly closing. There is a well-explained scientific reason for this phenomenon, you can find and read if you interest.

During my child age, I played with these leaves. I was the king and mimosa was the enemy army. I used a papaya leaf stick and fight with the Mimosa army. Once they dead I won and again the second batch of the army came.

photo_2021-01-26_09-31-49.jpg

photo_2021-01-26_09-31-45.jpg
In the above image, you can see the shrinking of leaves after touching.

4.30 p.m

Again I checked it about 4.30 p.m. The leaves are almost closed and also the flowers are dead.
photo_2021-01-26_10-27-23.jpg

The leaves and roots of Mimosa are taken for Ayurvedic medicine here. Roots (paste of roots) can be applied to wounds for fast healing. The decoctions prepared using mimosa roots are used for different purposes. As I found herethey are good for diabetes, urine stones, and many other health problems. But sadly in real life, we don't use it properly. But I remember the leaves are boiled with water and used for bathing.

Most of us remove them as a weed because it has thorns. The root system is the other amazing part of the Mimosa tree. There are bacterias that can convert unusable Nitrogen in the air to Nitrogen that can absorb by the plant.

photo_2021-01-26_09-32-57.jpg
Nitrogen fixing nodules of Mimosa

Mimosa flower is something I like most. Actually, I like its pink color. Its bud is like pine. Mimosa is spread by seeds in the following image you can see how the seeds grow.

photo_2021-01-26_09-32-08.jpg

Before wrap up let me show you the little creature I met while observing the mimosa bush. He is a kind of fly I guess

photo_2021-01-26_09-31-55.jpg

Isn't this Nature is Amazing!

All photos are my own. The camera is Samsung Galaxy M21.

Sort:  

How cute, round, pink and fluffy it is. I once met such a flower.

yes it is really cute. but can be damaged by touching. I didn't add the following photo as it didn't come as I expected. But you will love it. I placed Mimosa flowers in a bird nest

photo_2021-01-26_16-52-12.jpg

Congratulations @smileon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz hosting #HiveChat on Twitter on January 26, 2021 at 12.00 GMT
Next Hive Power Up Day is February 1st 2021