Moose Sightings

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

IMG_9867zz.jpg

When i think about a moose sighting, I think of a wooded area and perhaps a lake. I have seen moose only a couple of times out here. There is no forest or lake which is the main reason why I don't expect to see them at all. I've managed to get one or two good photos that I wanted to share with you all.

IMG_9874ps.jpg
This big guy probably came straight up from the bottom of the coulee. I think the coulee is always a bit marshy and it gives them cover for the most part. It is when they venture up out of the coulee that I have spotted them. Its been a scramble to grab the camera and somehow not be seen so i can get a good shot.

IMG_9875zz.jpg
Even though the photos aren't the greatest, I can still see what a large, powerful animal he is.

IMG_9872ps.jpg
And I'm pretty sure my horse agrees lol. She never took her eyes off of him. The whole experience for her was filled with anxiety. She paced up and down the fence line, blowing and snorting so the moose would know not to mess with her. It's a defense mechanism because she is a prey animal after all.

https://www.hww.ca/en/wildlife/mammals/moose.html

"A bull moose in full spread of antlers is the most imposing beast in North America. It stands taller at the shoulder than the largest saddle horse. Big bulls weigh up to 600 kg in most of Canada."

Very intimidating to man and horse!!

THE NEXT GROUP OF PHOTOS are the only other good ones I have of another moose sighting.

IMG_5530ps.jpg
These pics were taken in 2018. Twin baby moose!!

IMG_5539ps.jpg
The moose and the horses regarding one another :)

IMG_5537ps.jpg
Their mama was not anywhere that i could see. They only had each other and probably felt a bit more safe than if they were on their own.

IMG_5538ps.jpg

Instincts push them forward and with those long legs, it wouldn't take long to get where they are going.

If you want some fun facts on moose, check this link out ...

https://www.lawrencebay.com/7-fun-facts-you-didnt-know-about-moose/

Sort:  

Oh, they are amazing and so sweet. The two of them felt safer together. The horses are beautiful :))

I hope you could engage a bit more, with other people here on the platform. It is really much more fun and easier to start, not to walk this hive journey alone. Greetings

Thank you! Yeah, I am working on engaging more, I am learning as I go 😁. I think it's great to have this platform to express myself and share my photos1

Yes, that is good. We are all here to learn and go together on this path, helping each other . 😇
Hope you are having a nice Sunday :)

👍 Same to you ! :)

Oh wow I really like how well you are doing on the web 3.0!!! Keep it up, you are gonna pass me on the rep level in no time 💪

Thank you ! I am enjoying this platform 😁

Congratulations @sssandra! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!