Rabbits, Hares & Bunnies

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

IMG_8825ps.jpg

Greetings hivers, today i want to talk about rabbits and share some photos I've captured of them. There are always rabbits frolicking around, and if you watch them long enough, you begin to notice some differences in the species. Two distinct species that I see are the jackrabbit and the mountain cottontail (bunny).

The first photos are of a jackrabbit that dropped in for a day or two, probably checking for something good to eat.

Jackrabbits, I notice, have very large eyes that seem to stare you down. They have a no nonsense air about them which i interpret as an all business approach to survival.

IMG_8828ps.jpg

https://animals.mom.com/jack-rabbit-vs-cotton-tail-12273694.html

"Jackrabbits are hares, leoprids belonging to the genus Lepus. They are larger than rabbits and were named for their ears which caused people to call them "jackass rabbits," but the name was shortened over time."

...cute tidbit of info on their name haha 😁

20180504_133244-1ppss.jpg
This is the same jackrabbit as in the previous photos, in a different area of the yard. He obviously felt that I was not a threat, and I was able to get this great shot! Next pic is enlarged so you can see what I mean about their eyes ...

20180504_133244-1pps.jpg
👀

https://www.wonderopolis.org/wonder/what-is-the-difference-between-a-rabbit-and-a-hare

"Rabbits and hares are different from the moment they are born. Baby rabbits — called kittens or bunnies — are born hairless and blind, totally dependent on their mothers. Baby hares — called leverets — are born with fur and sight, and they can move on their own within an hour of their birth."

Next up is the mountain cottontail ...

20170916_111709ps.jpg

The cottontail bunnies are notably smaller and cuter. They seem very docile.

20170916_111559ps.jpg
My experiences with the cottontails is that they seem to tolerate humans more easily and the more contact, the more tolerant they are.

IMG_9745ps.jpg
This cottontail bunny doesn't usually run off when i am outside unless my cat is out with me too. I have affectionately named him Benny and greet him whenever i see him.

IMG_9768ps.jpg
He is always on the lookout for my cat, and gives him a run for his money so to speak. The cat will chase him because cats are hunters, but he is always so close, yet so far away lol

IMG_5933ps.jpg
The bunnies keep my cat busy for hours. He loves the chase! I scolded him in the beginning for chasing them. As I watched, I realized he was never going to catch them. They are too fast and too crafty 😁

Sort:  

Ah, rabbits! (or whatever species they are 😊). The last time I saw a wild rabbit was over two years ago. It was in the woods and it ran away the moment I was a few tens of meters away from it. The rabbits I know are very fearful 😄. I never imagined that a wild rabbit could approach a house.
And cat and rabbit is an interesting combination to play. I think cats are only a danger to rabbits when they are very young.
Hi @ssandra, you already know that improving engagement helps your account grow faster and adds more value to it.

Yes, I used to think the same thing ... too scared to approach. I now know different! I agree that cats are a danger to baby rabbits. My cat sometimes doesn't notice the adult ones when they are so very still. He can't help himself when they run though haha

Thanks so much for your vote and comment 👍

My cat sometimes doesn't notice the adult ones when they are so very still

I doubt that 😄 It's impossible for cats not to notice something. They are only pretending. My cats also pretend not to see the hedgehog in the garden. 😎 It's because they don't know what to do with it. And your cat probably knows it can't catch up with the rabbit, so it sometimes pretends not to see it. One can die of laughter with their acting. 😂
You are welcome!

Yeah you're probably right, cats are good pretenders haha 👍

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! Very much appreciated

Excellent photography with details about the differences between the two, what fun having these animals close to home.

Aww, thank you! Yes it has been so much fun watching the wildlife around home 😁

Start to recognize them, give them names, next thing you know they are pets 😅

!LUV

Hello @sssandra!

thanks for sharing
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Congratulations @sssandra! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!