You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creature Feature - Two Species of Rattlesnakes

Wow these are awesome pictures. My son loves herping and I've been on some late night road crawls with him in California looking for snakes :) I've never seen either of these rattlesnakes. My son has seen the Mohave in the Mohave (of course). Great quality photography as usual. I've impatiently waited for my son shooting a snake in the headlights on a rural highway in the middle of the night. I know quality shots take time and effort.

Sort:  

I would be keeping an eye out for sidewinders at night in the Mohave desert. If you go out there with a floodlight and look for their little eye horns sticking out of the sand suddenly you'll see them all over the place. Most of the places I've seen the Mojave Green rattlesnakes are up in the mountains, then in the valley I usually find the typical diamondbacks and black tails. Herping is quite fun out in the desert, there are all sorts of crazy lizards, turtles and snakes to find.