OUR VERY OWN 4 CORNERS

in Amazing Nature4 years ago

No, I am not talking about the 4 corners in the USA. Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Four_Corners_Monumen


These 4 corners are a little more personal. It is a great vantage point to get a beautiful panoramic view. At night it is a deft place to stargaze. On a busy traffic day, we get around 6-8 cars and 1 school bus traveling on these country roads. I forgot about Santa's sleigh, better known as UPS, is up and down the road a couple of times a week delivering packages to those who are happy and nice.

This pic would be looking north.

IMG_0383 (2).JPG

This pic would be looking south.

IMG_0382 (3).JPG

This pic would be looking east.

IMG_0381 (2).JPG

This pic would be looking west.

IMG_0384 (2).JPG

Just a pic traveling in each direction, each pic within 100 yards from 4 corners

North, pic of one my wife's Uncle Louie's Barns.

IMG_0438 (2).JPG

South, pic of old-growth Sugar Maple trees in all of their Autumn splendor. They have to stand 100 feet or better.

IMG_0380 (2).JPG

East, pic of a mountain stream bringing thousands of gallons of pure H2o a minute out of the lush mountains.

IMG_0422 (3).JPG
The same stream, looking downstream.

IMG_0418 (3).JPG!

One of these days I will take you for a walk with me down this mountain stream. Its beauty goes beyond the pictures that I will share with you. What will be missing will be the sounds, aromas, and peacefulness that will accompany this little hike.

IMG_0416 (2).JPG

A set of wheels, a bottle of vino, beautiful scenery, and totally quiet, am I in heaven?

Sort:  

I’m jealous!!! Lol. I have been stuck working in town all week. I need an outage in the mountains.... maybe I will have some time to do some "Line Inspection" today. 😉

I've got a couple of lines in this neck of the woods that could use some inspecting @jlsplatts.

DAHAHAHA I am telling you, I worked for a big corporation and the crap we saw and just drove past was... absolute trash. Yet they stood there for years and years. Some companies are a little more proactive than others. Some got so stuck on new business installs that they left behind their maintenance. For us it is kind of tough to justify the amount of money it takes to rebuild a 3 mile sections of line for 1 maybe 2 customers. So we change out a couple poles here and there and eventually get it all done.

Look for some rotten trees close to the lines and let them know about them. Tell them that you are concerned that they may fall and take out the line. Then hopefully they will get an eye on the poles too. Those poles may look crappy on the outside but the core can be solid as a rock.

Dang I better work on my FFF post. The wife and kids left me for the evening.... it’s quiet around here...

oh wait, wait for me, I wanna go to.

 4 years ago  

Those are some great personal 4 corners ^^ This marple trees remind me on you post about your privat marple sirup stock, hehe ;) .. But I am sure that some other trees were used in that one