Early Spring Plants

in Amazing Naturelast year

Thankfully, warm weather has finally arrived in my local woods. Plant life has begun to reestablish its dominance across the forest floor, teasing the abundance of vegetation yet to come. Over the last several days, I have found a variety of plants, large and small, growing across the forests and wetlands of western Michigan.

In the wetlands and shallow river floodplains, the skunk cabbage, trout lilies, and ferns have emerged to lay claim to their portion of the boggy earth. Along the riverbanks and surrounding slopes, bloodroot, wild leek (ramps), hepaticas, and more stake out soon to be well-shaded plots on the forest floor.

I love this time of the year as it allows me to witness the rebirth of the woods and the amazing abundance of life, beauty, and mystery that is borne from it.

Here are some of my favorite photos from my most recent walks:

Redshank (Ceratodon purpureus):

image.png

Ribbed Bog Moss (Aulacomnium palustre):

image.png

Flat-branched Tree-Clubmoss (Dendrolycopodium obscurum):

image.png

Fan Clubmoss (Diphasiastrum digitatum):

image.png

Pennsylvania Sedge (Carex pensylvanica):

image.png

Yellow Trout Lily (Erythronium americanum):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis):

image.png

Common Blue Violet (Viola sororia):

image.png

Pussy Willow (Salix discolor):

image.png

image.png

Eastern Skunk Cabbage (Symplocarpus foetidus):

image.png

image.png

image.png

Round-lobed Hepatica (Hepatica americana):

image.png

image.png

Sharp-lobed Hepatica (Hepatica acutiloba):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Purple Cress (Cardamine douglassii):

image.png

image.png
Cut-leaved Toothwort (Cardamine concatenata):

image.png

Wide Leek (Allium tricoccum):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Cinnamon Fern (Osmundastrum cinnamomeum):

image.png

Intermediate Wood Fern (Dryopteris intermedia):

image.png

image.png

Christmas Fern (Polystichum acrostichoides):

image.png

Eastern Teaberry (Gaultheria procumbens):

image.png

image.png

Broad-leaf Waterleaf (Hydrophyllum canadense):

image.png

image.png

Watercress (Nasturtium officinale):

image.png

IMG_8891.JPG

IMG_8880.JPG

Mayapple (Podophyllum peltatum):

image.png

image.png

image.png

Daffodils (Genus Narcissus):'

image.png


My NFT Showroom gallery: https://nftshowroom.com/tych021/gallery

PeakD reflink: https://peakd.com/register?ref=tych021

Publish0x reflink: https://www.publish0x.com?a=M7e58kDYd2

Sort:  

Wow, you found some really cool plants on your walk! I'm amazed that you were able to identify them all, do you use an app? I've always loved pussy willows, they are so pretty when they are dry and make lovely decorations.

Most of the plants I've come across lately are ones that are familiar enough for me to identify in the field, but for those that I am unsure of, or are new to me, I use inaturalist as a starting point. Even if I am not able to get an ID suggestion down to the species level, the computer vision model is often accurate enough to get me to the Family or Genus level. From there, I use field guides and listen to the input from others on inaturalist.

I've heard of inaturalist before, haven't used it yet, but great to know that there are people on the forum that help out with ID, that's super useful. Thanks for the info. Great photos!