Young Horned Lizard

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

I came across this little lizard during my morning walk here in central Arizona. I t would appear to be a young Desert Horned Lizard (Phyrnosoma platyrhinos)20220912_084254.jpg
It was out in the open sunning itself on a well-travelled gravel path so after a few photos of the very docile creature I relocated to some nearby but much less travelled scrub and rocks.
Although not an endangered species it isn't often that I come across these little lizards in my hikes. Most of the others I've seen have been up higher in the mountains.
20220912_084245.jpg

20220912_084249.jpg

Hopefully the abundant ant population in the area (the primary food of the Horned Lizards) will keep this little lizard well fed and it will quickly grow to adulthood and continue to increase the local population of these wonderful little creatures.
20220912_084225.jpg

20220912_084231.jpg

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Sooooo tiny! LOL my fiancé would LOVE this! Followed!